Labor Day

1 Sep

So today should be a day of rest, right?  WRONG!

Today was the day I got up, did a ten minute Pilates for Abs session, managed 20 pushups, and successfully completed Day 1 of the Couch to 5K program!  I also had eggplant for lunch.

I know I only ran a grand total of eight minutes today, which amounts to 0.65 miles of running… and it totally wore me out, but I have never been more proud of myself.  The first time I tried to do this program I couldn’t even make it through the first one minute of running… and today I did the whole thing!

I just finished it, did a cool down, and stretched.  I feel worn out, and I think I’ll be a little sore tomorrow, but I also feel totally buzzed.  This has got to be better than any other high.

I am also thrilled, because the 5K I planned on doing has been moved from the 13th to the 27th.  This means I am DEFINITELY going to do it, and by then I should be finished with the fourth week of the training program and be able to run about half of the 5K.

I owe thanks to the following:

  • my new New Balance shoes – thanks to them, the treadmill no longer gives me terrible arch pain
  • my friends and family – you’re always there to support me, and it means the world
  • my awesome readers – you guys don’t even know me, and you offer me the same consistent support I get from family and IRL friends
  • Antigone – she’s the one who got me thinking about running in the first place
  • Brandi – I have her to thank for getting me back to Weight Watchers, which helped me get skinny enough to try this in the first place
  • Jackisue – it’s moments like this that keep me motivated, you rock!

Of course, so much support is coming from Aaron, who was willing to spend money on my new shoes (and padded socks) this weekend.  He also, along with my awesome friend Tara, helped me earn my mystery point for last week’s Healthy Girl Challenge by walking 6.2 miles with me on Sunday to complete a nonstop 10K in laps around the mall!

I am so proud!!!  And so sweaty….  I’m off to the showers.

5 Responses to “Labor Day”

  1. Antigone September 1, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

    I have the biggest smile right now. The 27th? Want a cheering section? Because I’m totally there. Can I bring my dog?

  2. niobe September 1, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    You’re my inspiration (like I said on my blog). The gym was closed today, but tomorrow……

  3. Jenny September 1, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    Fabulous!

    We can work on it together – I’m finally injury-free, and restarting with Week 1 tomorrow myself!

    Here’s to a successful week 1 for both of us!!

  4. irunwithscissors September 1, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    Way to go sister! thats awesome! I am soo proud of you!

  5. Brandee September 2, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Go Heather go!

Leave a Reply

