True Blood

12 Sep

Did anyone else see this last night?  I have to say it was weird… but also sort of good.  Definitely not as family friendly as Buffy or Moonlight… in fact, downright inappropriate in several places… but interesting.

As may have become obvious, I am pretty much into all things vampire.  Except, you know… those weird people who actually think they are or want to be vampires.  Ew.

I think vampire stories fall into two pretty distinct categories: the traditional folklore, and the modern funky stuff.  Despite the modern setting, Buffy fell pretty firmly into the traditional department.  The vampires had issues with crosses, stakes, and sunlight… The Blade series, on the other hand, ventured into the modern territory… specifically with the third movie which looked at vampirism as a viral infection.

True Blood seems to be pretty traditional in terms of the way the vampires behave.  I’ve only seen the one episode, but it appears they have sunlight and silver issues.  The twist is that some company has perfected a synthetic blood (sold in beer-like six packs and called Tru Blood) that makes it unnecessary for vampires to hurt people…..  which of course doesn’t stop some of them.  There is a whole under story about vampire rights that I think is an interesting echo of real civil rights stuff…

Anyway, I thought the premier was pretty good.  And, even better, you can watch it online!  Just click the little “watch” underneath the main picture, and there you go!

12 Responses to “True Blood”

  1. irunwithscissors September 12, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    ha! you are a dork… and for that I completely love you!

  2. Rasee September 12, 2008 at 7:21 pm #

    If you haven’t already read the books, you should! The Sookie Stackhouse books (by Charlaine Harris) are very, very good. The series is a lot more graphic than the books feel, but I am just so excited to see my favorite characters come to life, and Alan Ball hasn’t done a bad job.

  3. g September 12, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    Stumbled on it today on On Demand. Love it!! Love Vampire stuffs. Love HBO, Love the Fall! Ugh so many shows, so little time 🙂

  4. ElizabethSheryl September 13, 2008 at 1:16 am #

    I watched it, and I have high hopes. I really like Alan Ball, six feet under is one of my all time favorite shows. I think it shoudl be interesting, I just hope that it stays with that slight sardonic edge and get TOO saturated with metaphor of civil rights. I do like the comparison, but no one wants an all preachy show.

  5. Luminous Hailer Star September 13, 2008 at 4:49 am #

    I just snatched the episode offline last night, because I missed it when it aired. If you go to http://www.myspace.com/bloodcopy they have a host of video clips set in the world of True Blood. Oh, and the HBO website has a comic book online that gives some interesting backstory as well.

  6. Sarah September 13, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    Clearly, then, you have reada the Twilight series…your thoughts on Breaking Dawn??

  7. theoneplum September 13, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    I gave you an award! You can check it out on my blog. Now I want to see that movie too. sheesh!

  8. holly September 13, 2008 at 8:12 pm #

    I nominated you for an award, you can check it out on my blog. hugs xoxox

  9. daisybones September 15, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    omigoddess! I didn’t realize I could see this online- w00t! I’m a vamp geek too, obviously. Been thinking of a post about it actually. Now I will watch True Blood and add my reaction to the post:)

  10. Antigone September 15, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    It’s OnDemand now. Yippee. I’m terrible at remembering to watch things. I just finished watching the last 3 episodes of Bill Maher.

  11. Sara September 23, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    I love all things vampire (well, didn’t care for the Blade triology)..but anywhoo.. I’ve been wanting to see True Blood – heard about it, but don’t have cable..poor college student – but knowing your taste of the vampire mythology, and you liking it..I’ll probably like it too. Must find online. And I love Alan Ball – six feet under, loved it! And as much as I like the idea of people seeing similarities on the civil rights arena, you can’t (or I can’t) help but also see the whole veganism issue that some vegans (ethical vegans) feel it’s morally wrong to eat animals when it’s unnecessary yet people do it anyway regardless of the atrocities, yada yada.. But yeah, nobody wants a preachy show – we have real life for that.. I’ll have to check it out online.

  12. Scott October 1, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    I think its a NEAT-O Show….Watched every one so far….

Leave a Reply

