A Day to Remember

15 Oct

Today is National Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day. Today is the day that thousands of parents all over the country are remembering, grieving, and wondering. So many of them never got answers, and even the ones who have some feel like it just isn’t enough. Maybe this year, with enough pushing and a new administration coming in, we can help to pass the S.3142 and H.R. 5979 Stillbirth Awarenesss and Research Act. Maybe, with our help, parents won’t keep going home empty handed.

I encourage all of you to research the situation in your home state. Contact your delegates, senators, mayors, and friends. Get the word out that people care about this issue. We should not be silent. Our lost babies are not something to hush up, to hide away in secret pain, to ignore for the sake of someone else’s comfort.

Today I remember my sweet Aodin, born to soon, gone too quickly. Today I remember Antigone’s son Henry, and Paige, Jessica Anne, Owen, Maddalena, Niobe’s twins, Anna Grace and Baby A, Micah, Callum, Sylvia and Claire and Lucy, JP, Hannah, Meg’s 7 Angels, William Henry, the Doodles, Jacob, Ames, Joseph and Molly, William, Jacob…. The list is heartbreakingly long, and this is only the handful of women who I know from the internet or real life somehow.

Today I remember all the other Loss Moms. Oh how I hate that we all belong to this “club.” However, these women are amazing. In their grief and pain, their strength and love, I find my own. Thank you. And thank you too to each of their precious little angels for bringing such exquisite love into all of our lives.

a charmed life?
A Mending Heart?
Afterwards
Awful But Functioning
Niobe
Grief is a journey…
Missing Micah
My Resurfacing
Not According to Plan
Paw Prints On My Heart
Please Give Me Back My Heart
the.para.graph
Where to go from here?

I urge each of you to take part. Remember your angels, or help us remember ours. If you send me a picture of your candle, I will post here and make a Flickr folder just for today’s candles.

7 Responses to “A Day to Remember”

  1. Emma October 15, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    I lit mine…I have a beautiful candle, and a beautiful photo I’d love to share with you…Remmbering Aodin along with Lily tonight. xxx

  2. Rasee October 15, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    My candle is lit.

    http://xstardustedx.livejournal.com/115545.html

  3. CLC October 15, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    Thanks for saying our babies’ names…

    Also, sending you prayers. I hope it resolves soon and you can go back to being excited:)

  4. Amy October 15, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    I am Remembering Aodin today and thinking of you both. Thank you for thinking of us.

    Sending prayers and peace your way. Much love, Amy

  5. c. October 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm #

    Thank you, H. Remembering Aodin today. XO.

  6. tash October 15, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Remembering Aodin today. I’ll wait ’til 7 p.m. to light mine, and will try and remember to take a picture. (These days remembering to light the dang candle is pretty much all I can realistically ask for!)

    A smattering of candles would be a lovely image.

  7. Becca October 15, 2008 at 6:25 pm #

    Thinking of you today…

Leave a Reply

