Holding Pattern

19 Nov

We went in this afternoon.  As of right now, I am doing pretty decently.  They are concerned about my cervix because I am carrying very low, and the placenta is riding low as well, so there is a lot more pressure than is normal.  They checked my cervix, and everything is fine and good there.  In the sonogram, the baby looks good and the heartbeat is strong, and there is plenty of fluid around the baby.  I have been told absolutely NO extra movement (which means that I have to hunt down the yoga teacher’s email so I can tell her…) and I have to totally change around my commute so I don’t have to walk anymore, but then that is all for now.  Of course, I am going to call them if ANYTHING changes, but he also suggested that I try one of those maternity stability belts also to see if they help.  So…

Honestly, it’s very good news considering the alternatives.  I am not on bedrest as of now, though that would be the next step if anything gets worse.  For now, I am staying positive and just listening to what my body says.  When I need a break, I’ll take one.  I wish I could continue with yoga, but I am more than happy to do whatever it takes to keep Sweetpea around for another five months or so.  🙂

14 Responses to “Holding Pattern”

  1. Bex November 19, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    ❤ Eat lots of cheeseburgers! That’ll make it better. [The stuff doctor’s don’t tell you.]

  2. Becky November 19, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    I’m so glad for the update. I have been thinking of you and Sweetpea all day long and I’ve been praying just as long.

    *hugs* to you all.

  3. tash November 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Oh bleh. Remind me why these things aren’t easy? (You know, for everyone?)

    Well, you know me and hope, but I’ll start a cheering section for upward movement. Hang Tight. Know I’m hanging with you.

  4. Emma November 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    All the best Heather! Keep your spirits up and I’ll be thinking of you and Sweetpea! xxx

  5. Cynthia November 19, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    That is great news Heather. Just make sure to take care of yourself and not overdo things. I have a strong feeling that everything will be fine.

  6. rainypeter November 19, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    Mmmmmm. Cheeeeeseburgers. Bex is onto something there. If I was in my Mom’s tummy and she kept sending cheeseburgers down the pipe I’d not want to leave yet either!

    Then again if I was in my Mom’s tummy right about now she’d be the size of a whale and not able to get to any cheeseburgers but that’s a different matter entirely. I’d better go get my own cheeseburger instead.

    Take care kiddo!

  7. Antigone November 20, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    I wish I could say the next five months would pass quickly but this is going to be a long journey. I think these have been the longest months of my life. At least they’re keeping an eye on you. As you reach each milestone in the coming weeks and months hopefully your concerns will ease. Take care.

  8. irunwithscissors November 20, 2008 at 9:30 am #

    just take care of your self and listen to your body! It knows best! And I think Bex might be onto something with the Cheeseburgers!

  9. Mom to Baby J November 20, 2008 at 9:41 am #

    Glad you are both okay. Please keep us updated. And hey, if you end up on bedrest you can always finish your book and write a couple more! Hugs. Lots of hugs. 🙂

  10. Chica November 20, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    I’d like to add my voice to the Cheeseburger brigade. Thinking good things for you and make sure you take care of yourself xx

  11. Brandee November 20, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    I’ve been thinking about you guys and praying -I’m glad it’s sort of good news! Rest up as much as you can!

  12. MOM November 20, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    I LOVE YOU

  13. elaina November 22, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    Had to come here and check for an update after seeing a certain Flickr pic! I got super busy going back to work and all, but still think about my friends and wonder how they are doing. I am sending all my happy thoughts and healing wishes to you guys today!!!

  14. Coggy November 23, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    I’m glad things are still good with sweetpea. This is all such hard work but I find if I try and just take it one day at a time it seems more bearable. Cheeseburgers and chocolate I’d say.

Leave a Reply

