A Little of This

22 Nov

I have lots to talk about, so you get a weirdly disjointed post….

First, I got several awesome things in the mail this week, including this awesome sweater and this nice and warm maternity coat, but my hands down favorite thing was a beautiful bracelet I got in the mail.

11.21.08 Change (365.313)
It came from the MoppetsCloset shop on Etsy, and it is just perfect. In case you can’t read it, the charm says “if nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies.” Here is a much better picture of the charm in a larger, all caps version. I originally wandered over to the shop thanks to this post on Zoot’s blog, and automatically fell in love with the charm. The seller was so nice about making it into a bracelet for me instead of the necklace she was already offering, and it only took maybe two weeks to arrive! I am so thrilled with it, and I have gotten TONS of compliments.

**********************************************************

Still no change as far as the pressure in the belly.  I am feeling pretty decent about it though, as long as nothing gets worse.  I am being careful and taking it easy, and from there I will just wait to see what else happens.  I am still feeling little swishes, so I am perfectly happy with that.  In case you’re wondering, the slideshow in the sidebar there is updated every week in case you want to keep track of how fat I’m getting.  🙂

**********************************************************

We saw the Twilight movie tonight.  Aaron had ZERO interest in going, but was willing to suffer through it for my sake.  I love him for that!  I’d have happily gone with someone else, but I couldn’t find anyone nearby who had expressed an interest in the books and/or the movie… so we went this afternoon.  I have several thoughts about it.

  1. I thought the movie was pretty good.  It was definitely a good looking movie, and relatively true to the book at least in terms of the really important bits.  As I imagine is the case with any movie you see after reading the book, there were a couple of times when I couldn’t help thinking something seemed wrong or off, but overall I thought they did a really good job adapting it to film.  Although Aaron would not admit to liking the film, he was willing to say that it was well done and sort of made him want to visit the Pacific Northwest.  He also managed to pay attention the whole time, laughed in several appropriate places, and did not fall asleep… so all in all I would consider it a rousing success.
  2. While waiting in line for the movie, I was interested in looking at my fellow movie-goers.  We were lucky in that we had a minimum of giggly preteens in our audience, which means the only screaming we had to endure was during the first kissing scene.  It was weird, but not as bad as some experiences in terms of the screamers.  It did, however, make me realize something interesting.  My taste in entertainment seems to lead me to things that share an extremely odd fan base.  Along with Buffy and Angel, my enjoyment of the Twilight series seems to place me squarely in a camp made mostly of middle school girls and the socially inept.  Now, please don’t take offense if you like those things, as I do too, so I am certainly not saying we’re all immature geeks.  I am just saying these things seem to attract a lot of people from both groups, which leads me to wonder what that says about me…..
  3. In the car, Aaron and I were talking about some of the aspects of romance in the movie.  I was pointing out how odd it was that so many people (myself included) seemed to be attracted to the idea of a relationship which was largely based on his control and her submission to it.  This is odd, since I pride myself on being anything but submissive, and Aaron would agree there.  He was talking about an article he read somewhere that did some informal study suggesting that the popularity of vampire fiction seems to suggest a latent fascination with fantasies of domination… which sounds much weirder than it is.  Apparently, the study suggested that more women than you’d suspect secretly harbor fantasies of being submissive somehow.  It seemed the women who were comfortable admitting this were the least likely to actually BE submissive in their real lives, leading to the suggestion that for them it was simply nice to indulge in letting go of control sometimes.  All in all, I found it interesting mostly because it forced me to admit that for me, this was totally true!  All of my weird inner storytelling (and yes, I do that a lot, and am still relatively sure of my sanity) centers around that sort of thing… someone else being in control for my own sake.  In an interesting connected though, all of my worst nightmares center around me always having to be the only one in control.  Hmm… this could be leading to a much deeper examination of my potential neuroses.

It is so deeply, clearly past my bedtime.  I hope everyone is having a fantastic weekend!

5 Responses to “A Little of This”

  1. tash November 22, 2008 at 11:30 pm #

    Love the bracelet.

    Are you doing True Blood? I’m a Buffy fan of yore, and am really enjoying it. Strangely, I have very little desire to see Twilight. Hmm.

  2. Mom to Baby J November 23, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    I love the bracelet and feel into the black hole that is Etsy. Seriously, I get so sucked in. And I love the slide show of your belly! The best idea. Wish I had taken pictures on a more regular basis. Have you seen this? It reminded me of you… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-T3lOOKrsWI

  3. Antigone November 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    Now you sound like Ayn Rand. She had a similar notion of romance. And capitalism oddly enough. 🙂

  4. brookem November 24, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    love that bracelet!

    glad you’re feeling okay:)

  5. Sarah November 24, 2008 at 5:30 pm #

    I just want to send you and sweatpea happy thoughts! And in a totally weird note, I had a dream that I was pregnant and having the same problem that you were…and everything turned out okay, so for some reason, this strange girl whose blog you read is convinced, by way of dream, that sweatpea will greet the world and her loving parents :).

Leave a Reply

