Return to Literacy

30 Nov

Or, book reviews #51 and 52.  Apparently I am way behind on both my reading and my book reviews.

I never reviewed this one, so here I go:

Marion Roach’s Roots of Desire talks about her personal search for meaning in her red hair.  There is a decent amount of history included, but a lot of it is anecdotal.  All the same, it was an interesting read and good if you like this sort of commodity history, which I do!  Verdict: B-

Next, I read John Stambaugh’s The Ancient Roman City.  If that doesn’t make me nerdy enough on its own, this was actually a textbook.  Yeah.  This one took me FOREVER to read, but not because it wasn’t good.  It was amazingly informative, reasonable well written, and pretty approachable if you have some background on the topic.  It just happened to arrive at the beginning of the pregnancy, when I slept all the time on the bus instead of reading.  After that, I got out of the habit of reading and would get through a chapter here and there on my lunch break.  The November came, and along with it the great NaNoWriMo.  After finally finished, I figured I would take the last few days of the month to read this!  I’m glad I finally finished it, and it will go on the shelf of nerdy books I intend to hang on to.  Verdict: A-

I have no idea what will be next.  If I really do spend December editing, I don’t know if I will manage much more reading… which sucks since I have at least ten books in my to-be-read pile.

2 Responses to “Return to Literacy”

  1. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday November 30, 2008 at 9:04 pm #

    The meaning in her red hair? I should read that, there has to be some!

  2. Bex November 30, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Hehehehe. I’m glad you liked your textbook. 🙂

    Ohhhhh Johns Hopkins Booksale! 🙂

Leave a Reply

