Seriously

3 Dec

The following is a list of things I have encountered recently on the DC subway.  I wish I were making this up:

  • A grown woman pick a booger and eat it.
  • A woman with hairy yeti legs wearing a short skirt and no stockings.  I am not knocking yeti legs, but not with a skirt.
  • Two different woman becoming vocal about their irritation when a man dared give up his seat for ME, but not for them.
  • A man on crutches trying to give up his seat to my belly.  I said no.  🙂  I also wanted to buy him a cookie.
  • No less than three people asking for money.
  • Two different teenage couples permanently making out on the train.
  • At least three children under ten riding alone.

Public transportation makes the world seem strange.

11 Responses to “Seriously”

  1. tash December 3, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    And here I always considered the DC system to be the Disneyland of subway systems. I guess NYC was a grim precursor.

  2. Cynthia December 3, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    That is definately the real world in the big city. It was like that 30 years ago when I would take the bus and metro daily.

  3. Tara December 3, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    I want to buy him a cookie too! That is very sweet.

  4. Wondy December 3, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    I love public transport, but I guess you do have to sift through a lot of this to get the gems, like the two guys.

    Adorable.

    Love you x

  5. Emma December 3, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    Public transoprt is certainly interesting… it makes your trip everywhere different each and every time! PS good on the guy in crutches! How sweet!

  6. Sarah December 3, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Public transportation makes the world seem strange.

    ….as does working in a public library in an urban setting, dearheart.

    Oy! One of my customers tried to kiss me today…

  7. shash December 3, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    5 great sights of the religion you gonna start?

  8. irunwithscissors December 3, 2008 at 9:40 pm #

    i think public transportation just shows you a whole different world of people… thats all!

  9. FFrancesco December 4, 2008 at 5:44 am #

    Bellissima descrizione… il mondo è piccolo: potrebbe essere una scena italiana. …non sapevo cos’era un booger!! 😛

  10. Karin December 7, 2008 at 7:21 pm #

    Colourful! 🙂

  11. Rainy Pete December 8, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    No, public transportation shows us the strange world we hide from when we cocoon ourselves in our cars and homes.

Leave a Reply

