For Antigone

5 Dec

I’m not sure where to begin. Your blog is one of the ones I found while looking for support last year after we lost Aodin. It turns out I found more than support when I started reading and commenting on your blog. I found someone whose writing I enjoyed, and someone who to this day continues to impress me with her strength and intelligence. Whether you think so or not, something tells me you won’t be Lost for long.

I am so thankful to be your friend, in blogland and in real life. I know you’re already a fabulous mother, and little Perseus is going to be so proud. I can’t wait to meet him. I know this isn’t a real shower, but I hope you enjoy it all the same. I promise you real dessert when we get together next.

I totally didn’t do this alone. I had LOTS of help from Awful but Functioning! Check out her blog for her awesome party game! This was also totally Missing One’s idea, so she should get lots of credit! 🙂

Others who are coming to your Virtual Shower:
Twice Mice
Jendeis
Tesilein
Tara
Beautiful Mess
Kekis
Monica
GirlH
Amelia Sprout
Get Pregnant
Me and Sis
Batty Nurse
Circles Become Me
Amazing Instant
Rossiter Chronicles
Cara
Niobe
Becky
Beth
musicmakermomma
Which Box
Mrs. Maynard
Upturned Barbie

Here, have some cake:

45 Responses to “For Antigone”

  1. Lydia December 5, 2008 at 5:11 am #

    What a great idea. I ate some cake for your shower today, Antigone.

  2. Becky December 5, 2008 at 9:41 am #

    I wouldn’t miss your shower Anitigone! I’m celebrating with you, and I’ll be sure to eat my share of cake today!

  3. niobe December 5, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Oooooh….virtual party games!!! I can’t wait!

    And Antigone, you know I *never* give hugs but in this case, I’ll make an exception.

  4. Lori in Denver December 5, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Oh, Antigone. I’m so glad to have the occasion to celebrate with you.

    That was the sweet. Let me try for some snark.

    Nah, can’t find any snark. I find it inspirational how you persevered in spite of all you’ve been through in the short time I’ve “known” you.

    Best wishes and smooth sailing in the coming weeks. And months an years.

    And thank GAWD I don’t have to do that awful toilet paper game.

  5. beruriah December 5, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    I’ll be thinking of you all at noon today!

    My first shower in a long time and I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

  6. Kirsten December 5, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    I am celebrating your exciting new life with your son! I hear the cake is delicious!

  7. Shanna December 5, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    Happy Shower Day! Wow, that didn’t sound good, did it? 😉 Congratulations and I am so happy for you and your soon to arrive baby.
    I am so glad I found your blog and hope that I have been able to provide some support for you over the past few months.

  8. tash December 5, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Wow, I somehow missed the noon part. My bad. See? I don’t even READ invitations.

    Thanks for hosting, Yummy and Missing! y’all are awesome.

    Cake is delish.

  9. loribeth December 5, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    Happy shower, Antigone! This is one baby shower I feel truly gleeful about attending!! : )

  10. Sue/STE December 5, 2008 at 10:33 am #

    OOh! Wish I could be there, but I have to teach. 😦 My heart will be with you along with the books “A Snowy Day” and “Leo the Late Bloomer” I’ll stop by later.

    Sending all my love, Antigone. Please have a piece of cake for me!

  11. Aurelia December 5, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    Happy baby shower Antigone! I’m eating cake and drinking in your honour as we speak.

    Great idea about the shower!

  12. Antigone December 5, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    What a surprise! Thanks guys. I love the cake of course.

  13. Kathy December 5, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    Count me in. I’m always up for cake and beverages! Great idea with the registry. I love your blog. Hope P likes their gifts!

    Best wishes.

    Kathy

  14. Shawna December 5, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    Congrats Antigone! It has been so heart breaking to “watch” what you have gone through and yet so awe inspiring, watching you rise above. Perseus is so blessed because he has the strongest mommy on the planet. You are going to be the best mom ever!

    I

  15. Calliope December 5, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    yay! I love virtual showers. Sending lots of warmth & love.
    xo

  16. WhichBox December 5, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    Congrats Antigone! What a lovely shower, and the cake is delicious. Yum. All the best!!

  17. Michelle December 5, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    Congrats and Happy Baby Shower! The cake is great.

  18. Becky December 5, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    I’m here too! Happy baby shower, Antigone! Hope you don’t mind that I’m bogarting the cake. Sorry about that.

  19. janis December 5, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    What an awesome idea!
    Best wishes to you, Antigone!

    And since no one has taken that cake-topper of a monkey, I’m going for it.

  20. motel manager December 5, 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    I wish I had a glass of champagne to raise to you, but it’s early here on the West Coast, so I’m raising some antioxidant-rich green tea to you and Perseus!

  21. Amelie December 5, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    Happy baby shower! Mmmh, cake.

  22. Ms. Beth December 5, 2008 at 12:57 pm #

    Happy to join the celebration!! 🙂

  23. Kathy McC December 5, 2008 at 1:01 pm #

    Best wishes Antigone!

  24. clarabella December 5, 2008 at 1:10 pm #

    Happy Shower, Antigone! Thanks for sharing your story with us, both the triumphs and the struggles. I can’t wait for you to meet Perseus, and we in the blogiverse await introductions as well.
    Swell cake!

  25. Cara December 5, 2008 at 1:24 pm #

    Oooo that cake. It looks so good. Happy shower!

  26. magpie December 5, 2008 at 1:24 pm #

    Happy good wishes to Perseus and you!

  27. Monica h December 5, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Happy Perseus Shower Day!

    So glad to be here 🙂

  28. grad3 December 5, 2008 at 3:07 pm #

    Had a great time– while the cake was fabulous, it was a little dry ;))))

    Happy shower!

  29. Betty M December 5, 2008 at 3:39 pm #

    Hi there – we dont have baby showers this side of the Atlantic so this is a new one on me. But i know how to eat cake and drink tea so happy to do it n your honour!

  30. Ya Chun December 5, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    Yay a baby! Best of luck in the next few weeks, the coming year, the next 18 years, well ya know, forever! Perseus and you will make a great team once he is out with the world!

  31. luna December 5, 2008 at 4:23 pm #

    hope to eat a cupcake tonight for you!

  32. missingone December 5, 2008 at 4:42 pm #

    Yum cake! Maybe I should break out the liquer…..of course I’ll have some sparkling cider for the preggos!

  33. -c December 5, 2008 at 5:00 pm #

    Way cute cake! Good thing I have cupcakes to tide me over. Happy shower, Antigone!

    Good luck tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll do amazing.

  34. Kymberli December 5, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    This is one baby shower that I’m happy to attend. You are stunning, and Perseus is a lucky little man. I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow, too!

  35. Jana December 5, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    **drinking your glass of wine**

  36. msbrilliant December 5, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    Congratulations Antigone! I’ve never commented before but I’ve been following your blog for months now and I’m so happy for you and Perseus. I’m excited to be at your virtual shower – this is such a great community. Enjoy 🙂

  37. Holli December 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    Antigone, you are awesome.

  38. Sarah December 5, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Can’t talk, eating.
    Happy shower day!
    Congratulations, you’re a fabulous Mom to a wonderful boy. (I don’t have to see him to know that.

  39. Melissia December 5, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    Sorry I am so late to the party! See what happens if you take a nap? You are going to be just the best mom there is. And that offer for the sampler is a standing one! So when you find a pattern you like, or when things settle down just let me know.

  40. Alex December 5, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    Oh dear — I’m late … but the cake still looks wonderful!

  41. Kristin December 5, 2008 at 9:55 pm #

    What a fabulous cake! Happy Shower Day Antigone.

  42. Karin December 7, 2008 at 7:17 pm #

    Happy Shower day! The cake is sensational!

  43. scarredbellybutton December 8, 2008 at 2:51 am #

    (Belatedly) happy baby shower Antigone!

  44. Ms.Sassypants December 8, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    I’m so bummed I missed it! I followed the link from your comment on Antigone’s blog about being able to send packages to you. If you would be so kind to let me ship the package to you, for Antigone, I’d appreciate it.

    Thank you!

  45. beagle December 10, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    What a great reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

