Weakness – Part 1

19 Dec

This is a long story, so let me sum up for those who don’t have the time/patience to get through it all.  We had a very scary couple of days and an unplanned hospital admittance, but as of today I am home and safe, still carrying our healthy, growing baby girl.

If you want to know the rest…On Wednesday morning, Aaron and I got up early and dressed up a little.  We were headed for our big anatomy scan, then a quick checkup at the OB, followed by a fun day together and a fancy dinner in Baltimore to celebrate Aaron’s thirtieth birthday.  Instead… things went a little differently.

We had our scan, where the technician announced that we had a healthy little girl who is measuring a full week ahead.  We  got to hear her heartbeat again andthe technician printed out a ton of photos for us.  At the end of the scan the doctor was brought in, which is totally normal.  He sat down and looked at the scan, and then said he wanted to do an internal scan, which is NOT normal.  After several tense minutes of looking, he finally explained that my cervix was funneling.

That rectangular black area is the membrane and fluid pushing into my cervix.  The white line is the cervix, and the red line is where it ought to go up to.  Based on the scan, I had 1.2 centimeters of cervix left.  This had all happened in less than a month, when I last had my cervix scanned.  For reference, the cervix should be somewhere between 3 and 5 centimeters long unless you’re going into labor.  This meant two very interesting things:

  1. We now know with some certainty what happened to Aodin.
  2. It was about to happen again.

I was immediately admitted to the hospital, where I was placed in trendelumberg.  Here, let me illustrate:

trendelumbergI have serious Paint talent, yes?  So essentially, I laid on my head for a day and a half to keep the pressure off of my cervix and encourage it to stretch out again.  In the afternoon on Thursday, I went in for my cerclage.  I was terrified of the spinal block, which just seems terrible but turned out to be absolutely fine.  NO pain, very little discomfort.  Now I know I don’t have to worry about an epidural, which is the same process only in a slightly different spot on your back.

They took me into the operating room, gave me the spinal, and hung my legs from stirrups.  It might have been uncomfortable, except I couldn’t feel anything below my navel after about a minute.  It was super bizarre too because once the stitch was in they put my legs down but it still felt to me like they were up.  The nurse said it was muscle memory and would go away once I started to regain feeling.  I cannot explain how strange and mildly frightening it is to try and move your toes and be completely unable.  I scared everyone briefly because as they put my legs down my blood pressure dropped and I got dizzy and nauseous, but that was fixed with some oxygen, ginger ale, and saltines.

I spent over an hour in recovery while they waited for me to regain feeling at least as far down as my thighs.  I was wheeled back to my room, where I tried not to overeat since I had been fasting since the previous midnight and now it was almost five.  I ate some dinner (french fries and chocolate milk) and then Aaron and I watched some hospital tv…

To Be Continued…

21 Responses to “Weakness – Part 1”

  1. Coggy December 19, 2008 at 5:39 pm #

    What a tough week you guys have had. I’m glad you’re all OK though and the problem was spotted in good time. Take care of yourself and your little lady. I hope things stay uneventful from here on in. K x x

    Ps that is some serious paint skills

  2. Rainy Pete December 19, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    Well aside from the run of bad luck, which turned out to be good since if you weren’t scanned they would have missed it and things would have gone very badly, it sounds good! Let me be the first to say….SQUEEEEEEEEE! Okay so I might not be the first, but still.

    Not only do you get to be saved from possible heartache but you also get some answers to a question you’ve been wondering about in what happened last time.

    Yay for thorough and speedy doctors and double yay for you three! (or os that two and a bit?)

  3. Caryn December 19, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    So, so glad they caught things in time!

  4. Antigone December 19, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    I’m so glad you three are all okay. How often will you be going in now?

  5. Mom to Baby J December 19, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    Holy crap. But in a good way sort of. I’m glad that perhaps you have some answers about Aodin. And I’m VERY glad they fixed you up and you are doing okay. I was so worried…And a girl. I knew it! Please rest up.

  6. Becky December 19, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    Oh wow. How scary! So glad that you’re home and resting now.

  7. Brandee December 19, 2008 at 7:51 pm #

    Oh Heather, I was wondering where you were! I’m so glad they caught it in time and were able to do something about it. I’m praying like crazy that you have an uneventful rest of the pregnancy. If you want any company while you’re on bedrest, let me know! XOXO Oh and congrats on the GIRL!! YAY! Everyone I know is pregnant with boys -you’re the only one on the pink team with me. :]

  8. Mrs.spit December 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Awfully glad you are ok!

  9. bastet3 December 19, 2008 at 8:37 pm #

    I have definately been out of the loop, since I didn’t even know you were pregnant again, so I offer my extremely late congratulations on that one! I’ve been too engulfed in the spiral of destruction that is my life that I’ve been avoiding things and people. I’m trying to come out of that now. Anyway, I hope that everything is getting better with you and the baby. At least now you know what’s going on so you can fix it.

  10. missingone December 19, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Glad things are ok! Yeesh, that must have been so scary! *hugs*

  11. c. December 19, 2008 at 11:12 pm #

    Wow, H., that was quite a scare for you, I’m sure. I’m glad they caught the problem and it was fixed with the cerclage. Hoping this is the only drama you see for the duration of your pregnancy.

    A little girl. That’s wonderful news. XO.

  12. Lydia December 20, 2008 at 2:35 am #

    I am so glad that you are okay, that they caught the trouble in time, and that there is a treatment. Fingers crossed for you and your little girl.

  13. Danielle December 20, 2008 at 4:01 am #

    Thinking of you and sending you lots of hugs! YAY for a girl, congratulations!
    Hugs,
    -D

  14. Amy December 20, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    I am so glad that you are alright. As sick as it may be to say, I am also glad that you have answers where Aodin was concerned. Sometimes, that helps us to get through the really rough times!

    Thinking of you and your beautiful girl!

    Much love and peace to you all!

  15. CLC December 20, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    Scary stuff Yummy. But I am glad they were able to do the cerclage. And congrats on the news of your baby girl!
    I hope you are feeling better!

  16. tash December 20, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh Jeebus. I’m so thankful you had an appointment when you did, and a doc who didn’t mess around. Take it easy, you! Feet up!

  17. irunwithscissors December 20, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    I love you and I am soo glad things are okay now!

    PS – thats one pretty awesome paint pic! 🙂

  18. Jenny F. Scientist December 20, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    I am, like everyone else, very glad to hear they caught this problem in time! I hope you’re feeling okay and that your little girl will stay put for another 20 weeks or so.

  19. Kristin (kekis) December 21, 2008 at 1:27 am #

    Geez Heather – what a change of plans! I’m sure it was a scary several hours. I’m glad you and baby girl are doing okay though. Take care of you both!

  20. michelle of bleeding espresso December 21, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    Glad to hear things are OK and in case I don’t get back around, I wish you and yours the happiest of holidays 🙂

  21. barrenisthenewblack December 22, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    Congrats on your daughter! May she stay snug for a while. I’m sorry you had such a scare

Leave a Reply

