Weakness – Part 2

21 Dec

They kept me overnight in the hospital on Thursday night as well, just for observation.  I sent Aaron home to stay with Savannah.  As much as I would have liked him to stay with me, I knew I would be safe and looked after in the hospital, and he and the pup could sleep comfortably together at home.  Of course I regretted that a little later when I started having mild contractions and some bleeding. 

Both things are considered normal reactions to the cerclage procedure, but I was still scared out of my mind.  I was given something to stop the contractions and the nurses came in every two hours or so to double check on the bleeding.  By morning, I was thankfully both blood and contraction free and ready to be on my way home.  I ate some breakfast and Aaron came to pick me up.  Once the nurses confirmed I felt alright, could fully feel all of my extremities, and was able to use the bathroom on my own, I was able to put on my own clothes again and they wheeled me to the parking lot and our warm, waiting car.

It was an odd feeling.  The last time I spent days in the hospital over a pregnancy, it had all ended so much differently.  I had left the hospital in a shock of emotional and physical pain, word and tired, utterly empty.  This time, there was more than hope.  There were smiles, jokes told in the car, and holding hands to the accompaniment of our daughter’s ever increasing kicks, punches, and rolls.  Though I am far from being without fear now, I believe this could really work.

And so… I am on bedrest with bathroom privileges.  I am allowed up only to use the bathroom and shower every so often, and I can sit up for brief periods to eat.  Otherwise, I am to lay on my sides and drink lots of water.  It is very likely that this bedrest will last until the baby is born, which we all hope is not until sometime in the spring.  After several days of bedrest, I have discovered I am not bored.  Keeping myself entertained is not the issue.  Instead, I worry about physcial issues.  My hips hurt, and my lower legs get sore.  I am trying to flex and bend them as often as possible, but I don’t want to do any more strenous stretching or moving until I have gotten a decisive go-ahead from the OB.

We go back on Tuesday morning for a sonogram to check my cervix as well as Sweetpea’s well being.  At that point, I’ll ask about a timeline for removing the stitch (at which point, it is relatively likely that I will go into labor) and about what movement I can do while on bedrest.  For tonight, I intend to fill out the short term disability paperwork my office sent home, read the third of three books dropped off by my awesome friend Tara, and admire the beautiful Cherish figurine that Brandi sent me.  Tara also dropped by unexpectedly yesterday to bring me the books in person, then hung out for several hours.

I am so lucky to have such good friends, and Aaron has been amazing.  I hope this whole thing doesn’t begin to wear on him.  I know it must be hard for him, though I worry about how he has to do everything now when he says his only concern is how I am doing.

We are hopeful and Sweetpea is dancing.  It is all I could want for now.

In other, book review sort of news, I have read the following:

  1. Kelley Armstrong’s Personal Demon – this is one of a series of Armstrong books I have read and enjoyed.  It is light, easy reading, and I like the supernatural elements.  I have intentions of getting the next one in her Women of the Otherworld series sometime soon.  Verdict: A
  2. Jen Lancaster’s Bitter is the New Black – I have to be honest, at first I wasn’t sure I could read this book.  The author started out as a totally self-serving, self-involved witch, and I just couldn’t relate.  I have to say though, she grows on you.  Funny, biting, ruthless… and a nice quick read.  So I tried the next one.  Verdict: C+
  3. Bright Lights, Big Ass – This one is all about Lancaster’s experiences living in the city, and a lot of it I could relate to.  I really enjoyed this one, and read it in less than one day.  So now I am on to the third.  Verdict: B-
  4. Such a Pretty Fat – I am just about to start this one, which centers around Lancaster’s diet and weight loss adventures, and should be full of things I can laugh at since I have tried so much on the dieting front in my life.  I’ll update when I finish, probably sometime tomorrow.

In closing, because if this doesn’t make you smile a little you might be broken inside, I offer this:

22 Responses to “Weakness – Part 2”

  1. Mom to Baby J December 21, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    So glad you are doing better after all the scary stuff. I know you know this, but it’s all worth it in the end. And just think how much time you have to work on your book! I hope your employer is caring and understanding through all of this too. Wish I lived closer so I could come entertain you and help Aaron with the cleaning, etc…

  2. Antigone December 21, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    I really need to read more.

    I can bring Sothis over to play too.

  3. CLC December 21, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Wow, that’s a lot to digest. Bedrest till the end sound brutal, but will be so worth it. I hope everything looks good at the appt. next week.

    I read Bitter is the new…I couldn’t get over what a bitch she was. It did get better towards the end, but I found myself in disbelief half the time that someone could be that nasty. Maybe I am to naive.

  4. Mrs.spit December 21, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    Awww.

    Talk to your OB/peri. A physio therapist might be able to come in and do some basic stretches with you flat on your back, which will help with the muscle atrophy.

    Hang in there.

  5. tash December 21, 2008 at 9:03 pm #

    I’d say I can’t imagine, but honestly, I can’t even imagine the smallest bit of this. Thinking of you so much. Hang in there, baby. Both of you.

  6. Bex December 21, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    That picture made me cry… and then smile. She is beautiful. And has beautiful little feet.

    If you do get bored while stuck in bed, feel free to call at anytime and I will vocally entertain you. 😉 Love you!!!!!!!!

  7. Amy December 21, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    rest, rest, rest! thinking of you and holding you close to my heart. of course, this one will make it, positive thoughts! she has a brother looking out for her and he’ll send her to you safely, screaming and kicking!

    much love to you and big, big bear hugs!

  8. Jaime Maynard December 21, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    Thinking of you and sweetpea, wishing you both all the best and more.
    Take care.

  9. Emma December 22, 2008 at 4:37 am #

    I LOVE her foot! What a beautiful image!

  10. Becky December 22, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Hang in there, you two! I’m thinking of you all.

  11. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday December 22, 2008 at 11:35 am #

    Oh my gosh! That image is insanely cool, she’s already working that camera baby…

  12. Becky December 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    Wow! What a crazy couple of days. Take it easy. I know how much it sucks because I was on bedrest from weeks 10-32 until I delivered. It’s hard, but so worth it.

    Please keep us posted on the progress of your cervix. From a fellow IC’er, I’m so happy they caught it in time!! So, so happy! I’ll keep you in my thoughts that the cerclage holds tight and your beautiful little girl stays put for a while!

  13. daisybones December 22, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Oh, I’m so relieved your visit to the hospital ended OK. I’m completely in love with SweetPea’s foot.

    Love & good wishes!

  14. Michell December 22, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    What a great picture. Sorry about the scary few days. I hope you are able to settle into a calm next couple of months.
    I’ve read a couple of the Jennifer Lancaster books. I read such a pretty fat first and then went back to read bitter is the new black. I almost stopped reading it a few times because she was so awful. It did get better though. If you needed books (depending on what you like) I have a bunch I would be happy to send.
    Oh and I love your blog layout. It’s so pretty and my cat was fascinated by the snow coming down.

  15. Staciet December 22, 2008 at 4:06 pm #

    I came over from L&F. First off, I am so glad your little Sweatpea is in her nice, safe home! It is scary, though, to be whisked away to an emergency cerclage and to be told that your life will basically revolve around the couch and bed. I wish you strength and lots of positive energy for the weeks ahead.

    I also was funneled and at 1.2cm at 20 weeks. I was placed on strict bed rest with only bathroom privileges. And the shower time took on a whole new meaning for me! Jeez. Anyway, it will be worth it when you get to hold your healthy sweatpea in your arms next spring!

  16. a December 22, 2008 at 5:02 pm #

    Just got Bitter is the New Black – now I’m not sure I’ll enjoy it. Thanks for the warning. I hope you find plenty to entertain yourself, and that you will be able to find some exercises that you can do. Good luck!

  17. irunwithscissors December 22, 2008 at 6:22 pm #

    yay! Im soo glad the bed rest isnt as bad as you had thought! and her little feet are adorable!

  18. Brandee December 23, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    That picture gave me a huge smile -such a sweet little foot!

  19. ame i. December 24, 2008 at 2:11 am #

    This is me, doing my best sturn Southern Momma voice: ahem “Ehhh! Nuh-uh, little baby girl, you not gettin outa dere til it’s goodn time. Hush-up now, here?”
    Maybe that will do the trick.

  20. rainypeter December 24, 2008 at 3:27 am #

    I came to say lovely and supportive things and here it’s suddenly snowing on your blog! You take it easy there and I’ll shovel out for you. Take care of you and your wee’un!

  21. girlh December 25, 2008 at 3:33 pm #

    i’m behind on this news! but am sort of thankful i started with the “everything is looking good post”
    hang in there girl you can do this. you CAN.

  22. Amanda Behrmann December 27, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear this Heather! I did bedrest because of pre-term labor with all three of my kids. My second one I went on it at 19 weeks. It’s tough, but totally worth it! I’m sure you know that. If you need any advise or just to vent to someone who knows, feel free to email or call 🙂

Leave a Reply

