Holiday Cheer

24 Dec

I have to admit I have been less than caught up in the usual holiday spirit this year.  With so much going on, and being so far from my family, I had a hard time getting into the swing of things and have only grudgingly put up our decorations.  Now that I am bed/couchbound most of the day you would think it would have made things worse.

Instead, I am feeling pretty darn cheery… though I do wish I had some of those yummy Hershey kiss cookies to help things along…  🙂

I am cheery because I suddenly have so much time to read, which I adore!  I finished the following:

  1. Jen Lancaster’s Such a Pretty Fat — As expected, this was my favorite of her books since I can so easily relate to weight loss efforts, struggles, and epic failures.  I enjoyed this one and laughed quite a bit.  Verdict: B+
  2. G.M. Malliet’s Death of a Cozy Writer — This one was totally not my normal style.  I got it for free from one of the giveaways on GoodReads, so I figured I might as well try it out.  I turned out to really enjoy the book.  It was quite well written, in a sort of old school classic mystery style with a nicely done story.  I don’t know if I will get another of Malliet’s mysteries, but I certainly liked this one.  Verdict: A-
  3. Peter Ho Davies’ The Welsh Girl — This is another that is totally not my usual style.  I tend to shy away from war era novels… maybe too many war movies with my Dad.  Anyway, I got this one when a coworker was giving away some books.  I am completely unable to turn down a free book, and now I am glad.  Another surprisingly enjoyable read.  A decent plot, if a little disconnected at times.  Verdict: B+

I am cheery because we have family coming to visit tomorrow and the following day, which will make it feel a bit more like the holidays too.

But mostly, I am cheery because I have managed to regain a hold of my tenuous if determined hope for this pregnancy.  Our daughter…  our daughter…. she is moving more than ever, and it makes me smile every time.  I know this is no guarantee, but I choose to hold on to this hope.  She kicked her Daddy last night, making all of us proud and him a bit teary-eyed as well.  Plus, all of this laying down seems to be doing the trick, as our Tuesday morning check up brought us the news that my cervical length has already increased from the initial 1.2cm to a full 2.5cm.  Nothing will change with the bedrest until at least 26 weeks, but the doctors say that if I can make it that far while still maintaining increased cervical length, I may graduate to a bedrest that involves more sitting up and maybe even the ocassional (wheelchair bound) venture out of the house!

I am feeling quite good about it all, and spent yesterday adding a billion pairs of ridiculously cute baby socks to our Sweetpea wishlist.  I am also spending lots of time thinking of Aodin, of how very much he added to our lives and how I hope he managed to take something for himself as well.  I miss my son, as I always will, but I know now that in missing him I can still love him just as much, just as fully and with just as much meaning.  I like to think he helped to chose his sister, and in doing so has imparted to us yet another sweet gift.

And so, in my newly reclaimed spirit of happiness and peace, I hope everyone is having a beautiful time of things.  I know plenty of hardship is still all over the world, and a holiday certainly does not change things, but hopefully it gives us all a chance to take a step back and be thankful for the love in our lives.

And so…  Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, Blessed Solstice, Joyous Festivus, Happy Kwanzaa, and have  a great winter.  I hope the new year brings every one of us something wonderful.

8 Responses to “Holiday Cheer”

  1. Becky December 24, 2008 at 12:48 pm #

    Merry Christmas, YSP!

  2. irunwithscissors December 24, 2008 at 6:59 pm #

    so sister! Merry Christmas! and I am soo thrilled to hear sweetpea is kicking strong! Merry Christmas to you, Aaron, and Sweetpea!

  3. Becca December 24, 2008 at 8:19 pm #

    Merry Christmas!! So glad to hear that things are on the upswing…can’t wait to see pictures of that sweet, precious girl of yours.

  4. c. December 24, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you, H. XO.

  5. Mommy December 25, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    My little girl, you sure have amazing insight!!! I am so proud of you! I think of my precious grandson every single day and always will – I have no doubt he had a hand {yeah, with his HUGE hands! 🙂 } in picking his little sister! We wish you such a Merry Christmas! We miss you and wish you were here with us more than anything…all our love – Mom & Dad

  6. rainypeter December 25, 2008 at 10:11 pm #

    And I hope you have yourself a wonderful Christmas as well (although it sounds as though you’ve got a good bead on it right now). Wish the whole clan well from the Rainy household.

  7. Julia December 27, 2008 at 10:44 pm #

    I am just catching up today from the last couple of weeks. I missed the drama, but wanted to say that I am so glad it was caught in time and that things seem to be going well. And that little foot is just the loveliest thing.
    Hope your holiday was lovely and uneventful.

  8. Antigone December 28, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Merry Christmas a little late.

Leave a Reply

