Two More

9 Jan

An update:  Miss Evi remains as active as ever, and I am doing fine as well.  Today seems to be a good day, and I am snuggled up with the dog and about to begin another book.  Tough to complain…

I finished two borrowed books.  First up was Leftovers by Laura Wiess.  I have to say I really didn’t care much for this one.  It was dark, depressing, and made heroes out of two spiteful, selfish little girls.  I just couldn’t relate to it…  Verdict: D-

Next was The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.  I liked this one quite a bit more.  It was a mystery and sort of a ghost story all tied together.  I thought the writing was well done, and the story kept me guessing a bit.  Overall, an enjoyable book though not one I would likely buy.  Verdict: B

7 Responses to “Two More”

  1. Judy January 9, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Really? B? I am constantly recommending that book to people in bookstores. I LOVED that book.

  2. Cynthia January 9, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    I loved the Thirteenth Tale, read it a year ago. It is one of my faves. Glad you’re doing well.

  3. Alyson January 9, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    Glad you are enjoying your new books!

    Alyzabeth’s Mommy

  4. a January 9, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    I appreciate your book reviews. If you have to be stuck at home, at least you can know you’re providing a great public service!

  5. Maureen January 10, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

    I have 2 recommendations. One is a lighter, quick, “junk”, cheesey feel good read. The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks. I love this book. My dad was on hospice and I was the primary care giver for the last 3 days he was too sick to care for himself. I read this book in very small pieces as time allowed and it was a great comfort and distraction to me. The other is Expecting Adam by Martha Beck. This one not be the best mix with overly emotional pregnancy hormones but still good. It is about a woman who has a very difficult pregnancy, and the catch is the baby has Downs Syndrome (that is not the reason she had a physically hard time but it did add to her emotional trials during the pregnancy)

  6. nice4naughtiness January 12, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    I’ve read through some of your blogs and all I can say to you girl is this: WOW!!!

    You’re story is so heartbreakin’, yet your spirit is SO beautiful. I don’t usually do sappy, it’s not somethin’ I’m good at. But, you are trully an inspirin’ individual.

    I wish you nothin’ but the very best in the future, hun. May peace and love fill your home. Thank you so much for sharin’ your story-you have so much to teach.

    Oh, and I’ll be readin’ from now on…..I’m hooked. 🙂

  7. Bonny Drake January 14, 2009 at 1:25 am #

    Just checking to see how you are doing? I’m so happy for you guys and for this blessed little one. Hugs to you yummysushi. 🙂

Leave a Reply

