Waiting and Wishing

16 Jan

There is nothing they can do except keep me totally off my feet and hope gravity will encourage some improvement.  Ideally we are shooting for 32 weeks, but if we can get to 28 weeks then she has the best chance of survival and only a tiny chance of difficulties in terms of disabilities and such.  So…  they monitor her heartbeat every couple of hours, and they are watching me for contractions.  (None so far)

I am feeling pretty good… relatively calm and very hopeful.  It isn’t easy, but it is totally worth it.  I got the first of two steroid shots this morning to encourage her lung development, which should help if she is born too soon.  So now we’re just waiting and hoping to make it atleast one more month.  If I do start to contract, there are some things they can give me to try and stop them.  I am keeping my fingers crossed!

I am taking advantage of having television to watch as well, and Aaron brought me some books and magazines too.  So for now, we wait.  Thank you all so much for all of your support!  It means so much!

19 Responses to “Waiting and Wishing”

  1. a January 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    4 weeks…you can do it. Just keep encouraging her to stay put and GROW.

  2. Bex January 16, 2009 at 12:53 pm #

    Oh no. She’s going to hang in there. She knows!

    Can they stand you on your head for the next month or so? Somehow I feel that would help Evi stay up in your girl parts where she dang belongs.

  3. Chica January 16, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

    Oh YSP, I am so glad you’re keeping your spirits up, I really believe that your positive attitude will go a long way to helping little Sweetpea Manatee (I know you’ve chosen a rockin’ name, but I just think this is so cute!) I’ll keep my fingers crossed too! x

  4. Becky January 16, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Sending you love and light and all kinds of cervix closing vibes.

  5. Jaime January 16, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    Thinking of you and hoping for health and peace.
    Lotsa love from a distance and keep us posted, we are all reading along and keeping you in our minds.

  6. tash January 16, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    Waiting, waiting with you. Holding breath, not exhaling, shaking fist madly at universe and threatening it with a baseball bat.

    Hang tight, both of you.

  7. Mrs.spit January 16, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Hang in there. Even if you just make it another 2 or 3 weeks, you have really great odds.

  8. Tara January 16, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    did you tell her that it is really cold out and she should stay in where it is warm?
    if you need anything, you know how to reach me – love you

  9. missingone January 16, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    Just keep hanging in there

  10. niobe January 16, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Sending much love.

  11. irunwithscissors January 16, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    love you sister!

  12. Caryn January 16, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    You’ve made it this far… just a little more to go. Sending all my non-contracting, thick-and-closed-cervix, safe-healthy-baby vibes your way. hee. Rooting for you and Evi all the time. *hugs*

  13. elizabeth January 16, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

    Oh goodness, I’m sorry you have to go through this but I’m keeping you in my thoughts and sending many many positive, healthy thoughts your way.

  14. Alyssa January 16, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    Hey….I found your blog through Lost and Found. I was not infertile, but was led there as I had two pregnancies that wound me up on bedrest. At one I was 3-4 cm dilated at 29 weeks w/ a bulging bag of waters. I was put on strict bedrest and delivered via a planned c-section at 39 weeks. With my daughter I went in for an ultrasound at 19 1/2 weeks and was 1-2 cm dilated w/ a bulging bag of waters. I was put under general anesthesia for an emergency cerclage. I was in bed going NOWHERE until 36 weeks. I delivered via c-section at 37 weeks.

    Just wanted to let you know, that you can do it. It was the hardest thing I have ever been through emotionally. I hated bedrest and relying on everyone else to do everything yet I wanted to stay as long as I possibly could. It’s a very very odd thing.

    Good luck.

  15. c. January 16, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Hope the ordered bedrest is just what your body needs, and your cervix does an about face and seals itself up, H. 4 weeks – hang in there (up there?), sweetpea.

  16. CLC January 17, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    Hang in there, I know you can do this and sweetpea will be fine! Just keep telling her to stay put!

  17. Carrie January 17, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    Heather,

    You and your beautiful baby girl are in my thoughts! I hope all continues to be VERY uneventful and that your Sweetpea decides to hang out in your belly for many weeks to come!

    Love,
    Carrie 🙂

  18. Hija January 17, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    Sending you love and good thoughts. Take care.

  19. christine January 17, 2009 at 6:56 pm #

    http://www.orthodox.net/trebnic/prayer-for-a-woman-with-child.html

    i have to change the words a little since i’m not the pregnant one, but i am praying for you! i love you!

Leave a Reply

