Valentine?

3 Feb

Okay guys, I need advice!  I want to do something for Aaron for Valentine’s Day.  We don’t usually do anything for it, but with all he has done and continues to do for me lately, I really want to do something.  I don’t have much money, and I obviously can’t go out and buy anything or do anything that requires leaving the house.

He has mentioned wanting a new Xbox 360 game, but it is $60 and I know he is worried about money.  I don’t want to make it worse by spending a lot.  Any thoughts?

He likes: ME, Sour Patch Kids, his Xbox, sci-fi books, sailing…

14 Responses to “Valentine?”

  1. Mrs.spit February 3, 2009 at 6:04 pm #

    I wonder, could you do something like making a book? You could find a pictures of both of you, or just him, and write a bit about why you love him, or what that picture reminds you of.

    Then get a friend to print it out, or even have costco do it on 12×12 sheets, and get a friend to pick it up. . . .

    It probably wouldn’t be that expensive.

  2. Danielle February 3, 2009 at 6:48 pm #

    What about a subscription to “gamefly”? It’s like netflix, but with games. I have no idea how much it is or anything, I’ve never used it before, but since you can use your computer, you can look it up online. Maybe that’ll help?

  3. Emma February 3, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    I made a scrapbook of our time together for our 2 year anniversary…it wasn’t expensive, and he loved it…

  4. n. February 3, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    what about a “coupon” book full of items that can be redeemed at a later date? somethings cost nothing, like a backrub, other things which cost money can be redeemed once the coffers are replenished.

  5. Caryn February 3, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    You might also look at a store that sells used games, too. Might save you some $$ and still let you get him the game he wants.

  6. Chica February 4, 2009 at 6:09 am #

    I like the photo book idea, for my ten year anniversary with Boyf, I planned to choose ten photographs and do something similar, writing what the picture meant to me Plus if you make something I think it means more than a $60 game? You could choose a theme like “ten reasons why you’re the best husband in the world” or something, and if you’re arty you could draw pictures too. Or you could order one of those voice recorder keyrings off amazon or whatever and tell him you love him on it so he can always have it with him? Am I going way too schmaltzy now? Haha x

  7. Rasee February 4, 2009 at 6:36 am #

    How about a love letter from his girls, you and Evi? Sort of a letter to tell him about the things you both appreciate about him, things you love, hopes and dreams and all that. Or put that in an old-fashioned Valentine’s card…all “Be mine” or “Be my Valentine.”

  8. Mom to Baby J February 4, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    There are used X-box games if you could find someone to get one for you…

  9. Dre February 4, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    I like the photo book ideas above. Snapfish.com does really nice photo books. Just upload the pics. And you can have it shipped right to your house. I think even have it wrapped. Best of luck!

  10. sara February 4, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Just wanted to say congrats on 26 weeks! I remember after my cerclage with this pregnancy every week is reason to celebrate!

  11. JP February 4, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    What about a slideshow or photo collage of the two of you and your lives together?

  12. Judy February 4, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

    I say get the game, but I’m spendy. I figure you guys haven’t gone out anywhere in months, you don;t have commute costs right now… I know disability is less that your regular salary though… I dunno… I guess I’m no help.

    I like the love letters from you and Evi, tucked into a really traditional Valentine card.

  13. Lisa February 4, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    Why not write a letter to Evi about the dad she will soon meet and always love. Explain to her why he’s the best dad, why you love him so much, etc. That would be a gift to him, more than a letter to her, of course.

  14. Antigone February 10, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    Okay for some reason I kept reading Sour Patch Kids as Garbage Pail Kids. Do you remember those trading cards? *sigh* I miss the 80’s sometimes.

Leave a Reply

