Unneccesary

6 Feb

I was reading over at Mrs. Spit today and came across this article:

Pro-Choice?  Quit Crying About Your Miscarriage

It is a pretty heartless article that suggests that if you are pro-choice, you somehow have no right to grieve an early loss.  Here was my response:

I think this article, which is cruel in my opinion, fails to take into account several important factors.

First of all, I don’t believe anyone has the right to make a judgment call about someone else’s grief.  Whether you believe this to be true or not, it is nothing but spiteful to come out and tell a woman who was hoping for a baby that she should get over the loss of her hope.

Secondly, this is yet another person assuming that being pro-choice means you have no respect for the potential for life.  Many pro-choicers, like myself, are not making calls as to when the “clump of cells” is or is not a life.  In fact, I don’t believe we can find an answer to exactly when life begins, and I don’t think it matters.  More simply, I am pro-choice because I don’t assume the right to make a decision about another woman’s body for her.  It isn’t about when life begins, it is about personal freedoms and the right to make your own medical decisions.

I could have gone on, said more about both points, but I just wanted to get my thoughts out there.  Most of the comments are pretty offended by the article…  I encourage you to go and make your own voice heard.

6 Responses to “Unneccesary”

  1. Mommy February 6, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    OMG; intolerant, uninformed, etc…etc… I commented!

    I love you!!!

  2. Laurie February 7, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    Your response was perfect. People can’t understand how you can be pro-choice and yet upset about miscarriages and infertility. I think it’s one of those things that you just hope you never have to experience, if you haven’t I don’t think you should be writing articles about it.

    I can’t have kids, but does that mean I have the right to make the decision about whether another woman has a baby? Um, NO.

    Some people are just so freaking ignorant, it’s painful.

  3. KennethSF February 16, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    I read her ugly excuse for an essay (which I’m surprised Momlogic.com actually published). You’re too kind to her. I wouldn’t validate the author’s view–or the author herself–with a response. Giving her the time of my day is giving her more than what she deserves.

  4. Jess February 18, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    Going to read the article. It always amazes me how ridiculous people can be…

    LFCA

  5. egan February 21, 2009 at 11:29 pm #

    I think this is great you spoke your mind. You’re so right when it comes to grief. We all grieve differently, just like we’re all attracted to different sorts of people. If anything, having a miscarriage might make having an abortion an unthinkable option, but the fact of the matter… it should still remain a woman’s option to do what she wants with her body.

  6. egan February 21, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Um, the author of that article is a bit whacky. I read some of her posts and am currently biting my tongue.

Leave a Reply

