As Promised

24 Feb

I haven’t even come close to starting my book reviews yet, but I did promise an update so I wanted to offer you one.

We are doing awesome.  We had a checkup again this afternoon, and my cervix is still stable and holding.  Evi is growing big and strong, and she is now 3lb 6oz.  We’re cruising through, and next Saturday will be 30 weeks!  I can’t believe we have made it this far.  I am starting to feel real hope about this little girl, and I can’t wait to meet her.

I also had my glucose test last week.  It was… interesting.  The fruit punch flavored glucola was not as bad as I thought it would be, but was still pretty gross.  The taste itself was just like over sweetened fruit punch, but the aftertaste and bitterness was pretty awful.  All the same, it went down quickly and I went in for my appointment.  I sat down in the hallway to wait for the technician to draw my blood.  I had already noticed I was quite cranky and very hot.  As we sat, I slowly got hotter and started sweating.  Then I started to get nauseous.  A few minutes later, and I was getting dizzy.  Then my vision started to blur.  After that, I blanked out for a bit and the next thing I remember is Aaron’s face right in front of mine, and his hands on my cheeks while he called my name.  Apparently, I started to have a seizure, and I shook and my eyes rolled back in my head for about fifteen seconds before I finally was able to focus on him and react to my name.  I don’t remember the seizure part, but by the time I came around Aaron and a nurse where there.  They helped me lay down, and then the technician came in to take my blood.  After it was drawn, they gave me crackers and fruit juice.

I was positive my horrible and bizarre reaction meant I would fail the test, but thankfully I passed without issue.  I still have no idea why I had such a scary reaction, but all the same I don’t have to do it again.

Now we are just counting down the weeks, though in a much more relaxed way than before!  I’ve even registered for more baby stuff, and my mother bought us a stroller.  I finally feel like this might actually happen.  It is sort of an amazing feeling.

12 Responses to “As Promised”

  1. irunwithscissors February 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    yay sister! this is going to be good… cant wait to meet Evi!

  2. Bex February 24, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    I ❤ you!!!!!

  3. Caryn February 24, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    OMG. I’m glad you came out of it so quickly. Poor Aaron, that must have scared him so much! I’m so happy Evi (and you) are doing well. *lots and lots of hugs*

  4. n February 24, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    soo happy for you! cant wait to meet evi!

    scary stuff with the glucose test though. glad you didnt have to due the 3 hour version.

  5. deepdreamer February 24, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

    The brain does strange things to us when we’re over heated. Being pregnant probably made it worse. I faint when I’m too hot. Still- the main thing is you and bub are ok!
    xx Emmaxx

  6. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday February 24, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    It is so cool to have you back. You have been so missed.

    Can’t wait to see Evi!

  7. Danielle February 24, 2009 at 11:27 pm #

    Oh no! You had a big scare there! I’m glad you’re OK and that you passed your test. YAY for almost 30 weeks! You’re doing a GREAT job!

  8. Amy February 25, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    I am so happy for you! Scared about the weird thing with your glucose test but hell, you’re alright now! Yeah! Keep on keeping that little one in!

  9. Jaime Maynard February 25, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    I reacted weird to the blood glucose test as well, I felt really dizzy after I was done and on my way home. I tripped and hurt my foot really bad, I ended up in the hospital for foot rays, I was 6 months pregnant at the time, it was brutal. Some people seem to react weird to that stuff, I think it’s a shock to the system to put in that much sugar so fast and just out of nowhere.
    P.S I also passed-yeay for you and not having to do another one. I can’t wait for you to have your baby girl in your seither lady 🙂

  10. barbara February 25, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Pleased pleased (not about the seizure)

    xxx

  11. Sarah February 25, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    What wonderful news (well, the results, if not the whole process leading up to it). Yay! Evi’s on her way!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flash « Yummy Sushi Pajamas - September 16, 2009

    […] the glassy eyes, the pale greenish tone to his skin….  Aaron says it’s pay back for when I did the same thing.  Let me tell you, it’s […]

Leave a Reply

