More Books

6 Mar

I finally finished The Serpent’s Tale, and I really enjoyed it.  It was well written, I didn’t immediately know all the answers to the murder mysteries, and I really enjoy the characterization of the main character, a medieval woman trained in the medical schools of Sicily and specializing in explaining deaths.  It’s like medieval Bones.  Verdict: A

Next up, I attempted The United States of Arugula: How We Became a Gourmet Nation.  In general, I enjoy books about food and I also love this type of book, telling the story of a particular item or movement.  I really wanted to like this, and yet it took me four days to read less than 100 pages.  I could never read more than a page or two at a time, and I was never motivated to pick the book up unless it was out of a sense of simply wanting to finish what I started.  I don’t know quite what it was, but it just wasn’t the book for me.  I am not even going to rate it, since I can’t manage to figure out why it wasn’t my thing….

Leave a Reply

