34 and Counting

28 Mar

I can’t believe I am 34 weeks along today.  It seems like a total miracle, especially when I consider how many times I thought I might not make it.  Evi continues to grow strong and big, and yesterday she discovered the joy of trying to dislodge my ribs with her feet.  Painful, yes, but I don’t really mind.

These coming weeks seem like some big adventure to me now, these days I worried would never come.  Now here I am, facing the last few weeks of what seems to be a happy, healthy pregnancy.  I am excited, terrified, overwhelmed, and so in love.

Now I just have to manage to stay sane for another 2.5 weeks until the stitch comes out and I am reintroduced to mobility!  Until then, thanks to some lovely birthday gifts, I still have some reading to do!

The Know-It-All by A.J. Jacobs is a memoir of his adventure to read the entire Encyclopedia Britannica from cover to cover.  He spends about a year doing it, and in the process shares all sorts of insights about his own learning, his life and family, and the contents and history of the great encyclopedia.  Overall I thought it was a pretty good read, though a little slow at times.  He’s a reasonably funny guy, and there was a lot of pretty interesting information in there.  I doubt I will remember any of it, which is amusingly something he talks about as well.  Verdict: B

Now, speaking of literary genius…. please go and review the first 17 pages of my book!!!  For those who already have, I LOVE YOU!  For my beautiful Canadian friends, you’re apparently not able to review… which makes me SAD!

4 Responses to “34 and Counting”

  1. Antigone March 28, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

    Yippee!! Did you get a weight estimate yet? I can’t wait to see her! Maybe Percy can take her out for lunch. 🙂

  2. barbara March 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    Here’s to the big adventure to come!

    xxx

  3. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday March 29, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    I know! It sucks!

    Is there any way around this?

  4. Tara March 30, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    I can’t wait to meet her! I am so excited.

    Oh and um…the book rocks, when will we get to hear the rest of it?

Leave a Reply

