Saturday Speculations

4 Apr

In no particular order, here are the things I am thinking about today:

  • Last week, while laying on the couch, (laying? lying?) I heard someone yelling outside.  When I looked out, I saw a man walking away from the water’s edge (we live one house away from the bay) with one dog on a leash and another in his arms.  He was being trailed by two large, black dogs and a yelling woman.  She was yelling at the dogs, who she habitually walks without their leashes.  This is a problem, since we technically have laws here that you MUST leash your dogs.  Also, she walks with the leash in her hand, so I have no idea why she chooses not to use the thing.  Her dogs are nice, but big and young, which means they are full of energy and frequently overwhelm other dogs… especially smaller ones like the one the (clearly annoyed) man was carrying as he left.  Anyway, the woman was clearly frustrated with her dogs, and so commenced to whip them with the leash!!!  For being, you know, DOGS.  If she had followed the law and kept them on the leash, there would have been no issues.  But instead, this amazing piece of work decides that the dogs should be rather viciously punished for doing only what comes naturally to them when uncontrolled.  I would like to use the woman as kindling, and take her dogs from her.  I have NO patience for animal abusers.
  • I finished A House Somewhere.  It is a collection of travel essays about not just visiting a foreign country, but living there for an extended period of time.  I was interested in it in part because I just love travel, but also because I was drawn to the essays about foreigners living abroad in the US.  I wanted to see what America looks like through the eyes of a non-citizen.  The book is mostly made up of excerpts from previously written travel books by various authors, but also includes some original essays written specifically for the book.  Authors include Isabel Allende (writing about the US), Lily Brett, Simon Winchester, and Frances Mayer (Under the Tuscan Sun), so I was reasonably impressed.  Overall I thought the book did a great job of covering stories in more than just Western Europe, including essays based in China, Morocco, and Thailand.  The writing spans all sorts of styles, yet still manages to convey a sense of overall scope to the essays as a whole.  Although I enjoyed the book, I still felt a sense of heavy American/British influence in terms of the identities of the writers.  Ideally, I would have been even happier with the work if it had included some authors whose homes were based in non-Western cultures, and I would have liked to see some essays on living in less popular places like Eastern Europe, the South Pacific, or southern South America.  Verdict: B-
  • This morning, I finished The Alienist.  I am not normally a mystery reader, and definitely not generally a fan of 19th/20th century American history… so I’m not even sure why I chose this book to read. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The book is well researched, well written, and entertaining enough to have kept me interested throughout several hundred pages. Though the ending was probably a little bit predictable for mystery fans, I was reasonably engaged by it all the same. I enjoyed quite a bit of the character work, and I really liked the discussion of early psychological and scientific techniques in criminal investigations.  It took a little bit of getting into in the beginning, probably thanks to a personal aversion to all things American history related, but in the end made a small beginning struggle well worth it.  Verdict: A-
  • Our crib (in honey oak) has officially shipped, and it should be here sometime next week!  Should be just in time for Evi’s arrival, though she won’t be sleeping in it for a while still.  I am pleased, since I like the idea of having that room all finished by the time she is here or soon after.  Here’s a pic of the stuff for the tiny nursery room… we have everything except the glider and the frame for her hand/footprint.nursery1
  • I would KILL SOMEONE for a pizza margarita right now.  And no, a cheese pizza will not do.  Specifically, I want one from Carpaccio“the classic Neapolitan pizza, zesty tomato sauce, fresh basil & fresh Mozzarella.” Unfortunately, it’s a half hour away… so Aaron has offered to MAKE me one tomorrow!  How much do I love him?  MORE THAN WORDS, and almost as much as pizza.  🙂
3 Responses to “Saturday Speculations”

  1. Beautiful Mess April 4, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    MMM that pizza sounds good! What an amazing hubby you got there! Evi’s room is going to be so great. How exciting, she’ll be here so soon! I don’t blame you for being angry about that lady and her dogs, I’d be pissed too.

  2. a April 4, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    You have hit on one of my biggest pet peeves. Idiot people and their unleashed dogs. I used to have a dog when I lived in Chicago. She was a terrier with socialization problems, so bigger dogs would frequently attack her. Especially when they were unleashed. Their idiot owners would be soooo surprised when their dog would take off and bite my dog. And then to beat on the dogs – that woman ought to take a few hits from her leash.

    The pizza sounds really good…will he come and make it for me too?

    Your nursery is beautiful…

  3. irunwithscissors April 5, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    wow, what an awful woman! Bet your super excited about your crib though!

Leave a Reply

