Beautiful Weekend

26 Apr

This has been the best weekend we’ve had in a VERY long time.  It has been fun, beautiful, and full of awesome memories.

Aaron and I spent Saturday celebrating our five year wedding anniversary.  Friday was the actual day, but we figured we’d have a better time if we gave ourselves a full day to celebrate.  We had breakfast at home with my parents, and then we went to Baltimore just like we did during our mini honeymoon.  We spent the afternoon at the National Aquarium and had a great time.  We saw the new dolphin show, which totally made me teary-eyed at the thought of sharing things like that with Evi.  We had a wonderful time seeing all of the exhibits again, and I must have walked for several hours… with lots and lots of breaks in between and tons of water too.

After the aquarium, we had an amazing celebratory dinner.  We had a ton of gift cards for Flemings Steakhouse from Aaron’s birthday (back in December), so we had a beautiful fancy dinner to celebrate Aaron’s birthday, Christmas, New Years, Valentine’s Day, my birthday, and our anniversary all in one.  The food was absolutely wonderful… the filet mignon I had was insanely good, and Aaron’s ribeye was perfect too.  The sides were decent, if not perfect, but then dessert made it even more amazing.  I had a brilliant creme brulee, and Aaron had a supremely good key lime pie.  We left stuffed, happy, and thrilled with the quality of the food and the service.

By the end of the day I was absolutely worn out, so tired I almost slept in the car on the way home.  We came home to a beautifully relaxing evening with my parents, who had an awesome day out at a Celtic festival, saw The Soloist, and ate at a German restaurant.  We fell asleep to the soothing sounds of a thunderstorm.  I couldn’t have asked for a better day.

Today, we drove my Dad down to see the new house, which technically is not ours yet but we feel safe in saying will be ours in the next couple of months.  After that, we had all day to do whatever we wanted, but were trying to stay out of the heat for the sake of my energy levels.  We ended up driving down to Solomon’s Island, having a really awesome lunch, and touring the Chesapeake Marine Museum.  It was just a tiny little museum, so I wasn’t expecting much, but it turned out to be a really great place with a ton of cool information.  I forgot my camera, but got some great pics anyway between my mom and dad’s cameras.  I’ll upload them soon.

Aaron and I spent the weekend talking about our anniversary.  It’s interesting, because we’ve been married for five years, but really we’ve been together for eleven years…  so the five almost seems like a non-event.  We love being married, we had a beautiful wedding day, and we have had a beautiful marriage… but in the end we already had such a wonderful relationship, we were already on the perfect track for ourselves so getting married just seemed like the logical next step instead of some big new thing to do.  We are both so happy with all that we have accomplished in our time together, all that we have gone through, learned from, and enjoyed.

I couldn’t find a better friend, a better partner.  I couldn’t ask for someone who understood me more.  Aaron always anticipates my needs, and in this last few months I have had the chance to see even more what he is capable of in terms of loving, caring for, and supporting me.  I have never been happier, and every day I am more in love.

9 Responses to “Beautiful Weekend”

  1. Becky April 26, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! I’m so glad that you had a lovely weekend.

  2. meghan April 26, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend. Congrats on your anniversary!

  3. Emma April 26, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I have been told my my father-in-law that the most important thing that comes before love in a relationship is friendship. I am glad you have your best friend for life! xxx

  4. Beautiful Mess April 26, 2009 at 11:10 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect weekend! Happy anniversary. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time.

  5. CLC April 27, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! Aaron sounds like a gem!

  6. JP April 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! I am so happy that you and Evi have made it this far together! I’m anxiously awaiting what the next few days or weeks will bring you and Aaron.

  7. coffeegrl April 28, 2009 at 1:18 am #

    Fabulous! My hubby and I have been together for over 9 years so our 3 year anniversary last fall was pretty much a non-event by comparison. Whenever people ask how long I’ve been married I tell them that measurement of time doesn’t begin to describe our life together. So glad that you two are able to celebrate a like relationship. Sounds lovely!

  8. egan April 28, 2009 at 3:18 am #

    We celebrated our anniversary, number 8, yesterday. Say hi to the girl in your belly.

  9. irunwithscissors April 28, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    love you sister… happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

