Due Date

30 Apr

Well, we have an official date now!  At the check up this morning I still hadn’t made any further progress, but Ms. Evi is getting big.  The OB suggested we schedule an induction just in case, so we’ll be inducing on May 7 or 8.  I will get the official date and time on Monday afternoon.

So that’s it.  No matter what happens, we will be holding our daughter in about a week.  I am overwhelmed with expectation and excitement.

I never thought I would make it this far, no matter what happened with this pregnancy.  I am so proud of my body, and my sweet baby girl.  We did it.  We made it to the end, and now she is going to be born full term, totally healthy, and completely prepared to take over the world.

Oddly, I have next to no fears about the birth process itself.  My fears are all consumed in the post partum healing process.  I don’t know why, but for whatever reason I am totally freaked out by how it’s going to be to bounce back from a full term birth.  I suppose we’ll see!

10 Responses to “Due Date”

  1. Jaime April 30, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    It will be so easy because you will have your beautiful baby girl to dote on.
    I remember thinking the physical recovery was not that bad, (Evan was 21 inches, 7lbs 11oz.) and that if I had him in my arms to hold and stare at that I would barely notice, or care about the discomfort of the recovery. ( I should also mention I had an episitomy, forecepts delivery and many many many stitches)
    So ya no worries lady, your body knows what to do and how to heal.

  2. Becky April 30, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    Love it. What a cool due date.

  3. Bonny April 30, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    You will do great. I had a 9lb 3oz baby and went back to work cleaning apartments two days later. I don’t recommend that method of recovery, but I did what I had to do. And you will be so busy with the new baby, really you don’t notice too much. I strongly recommend epifoam if your hospital has it.

  4. Caryn April 30, 2009 at 5:00 pm #

    You have made it this far, girl… You can handle whatever comes. Your little girl is so fortunate to have such an amazing momma. 🙂

  5. irunwithscissors April 30, 2009 at 8:49 pm #

    yay! I cant wait!

  6. Emma May 1, 2009 at 4:27 am #

    Yay for a 39 week photo. You and Aaron will be amazing parents to Evi, if the love you have for Aodin is anything to go by….He’ll make sure she gets here and you’ll be holding her in your arms before you know it. I can’t wait to see what she looks like!

  7. Sarah May 1, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    Wowza! Now you’re just waitin’ on your girl – see the Brad Paisley song “Waitin’ on a Woman” for the reference :o). Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll bounce back with ease…most mothers I know have :).

  8. Chica May 1, 2009 at 5:52 pm #

    Congratulations Heather, I am so thrilled for your little family! xx

  9. Kristin (kekis) May 1, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Congrats & great job! Can’t wait to see pics. 🙂

  10. CLC May 2, 2009 at 7:24 am #

    I am so excited for you. It will be here before you know it!

Leave a Reply

