So They Say

21 May

When you’re having a baby… or doing anything else involving a major life change… you get LOTS of advice.  Most of it is good, well intentioned advice that may or may not apply, but is at least comforting.  Some is… less useful.  🙂

For us, we had several things recommended to us as MUST HAVE items for baby.  Now that she’s here, I have to take the time to comment on some of these recommendations.

  1. Boppy Bare Naked with Miracle Middle – I remember thinking that the Boppy couldn’t be that big a deal… it’s just  a pillow, right?  Why couldn’t I just use a different pillow?  Ours was bought for us from our registry, and my beautiful friend Brandi recommended bringing it to the hospital with us.  I have to say, it has been a LIFESAVER.  Yes, I am sure you could rig something similar up with blankets or pillows, but the Boppy is just so easy.  Having it in the hospital was fantastic for our first nursing attempts too.  I couldn’t be without it.  In fact, I wouldn’t mind having two!
  2. Infant gowns – Everyone said these would be indispensable.  They definitely are easy to put on and take off, and they make diaper changes a little easier too.  So, for sitting around the house, they are great.  However, they don’t fit into the carseat at all, so if she’s got on a gown we either have to change her, or hike it up and fight with the extra fabric under the seat straps.  They’re also not great for sleeping, since she likes to kick her feet and ends up escaping them.  So…  have a couple, but they’re not as cool as I wanted them to be.
  3. Sleep sacks -These are awesome for sleeping, especially since Evi likes to kick her feet and is forever escaping her socks and/or the swaddle.  They’re terrible for carseats though, just like the gowns.  Having a few for sleeping is perfect, but they do make those middle of the night diaper changes a little more complicated.
  4. Boudreauxs Butt Paste – I LOVE this stuff.  It smells much better than Desitin or Balmex, and I think it works beautifully without making her too uncomfortable.  It’s awesome, and I would recommend it to everyone.
  5. Pampers Swaddlers Diapers – I can’t say enough about these diapers.  We got a ton of free sample diapers in the mail (I can’t tell you how weird it is to get a single diaper in the mail) so we got to try several different brands.  Huggies were by far our least favorite, with a very unnatural fit and weird sizing as well.  The swaddlers are awesome.  We did still have to fold the front down a little until her cord came off, but they fit her really well.  We have had some major diapers without any leaking, and the newborn size is perfect for her.  Thanks SO much to the several friends who sent us packs of newborn and size 1 diapers.  Believe it or not, we’ve already gone through an 84 pack of newborns and just had to order another!  Luckily Amazon was running a deal!
  6. Nuk Orthodontic Slow Flow Nipples – These have been awesome!  Evi hates the shape of most nipples, but happily takes these.  She is such a lazy nurser too, so the slow flow keeps her from choking when she eats.  We’d be miserable without these.
  7. Swaddle blankets – The idea of these is awesome, but even the small size ones are too big for her right now, which is odd since she is a pretty average baby.  I feel like by the time she fits into them, she won’t want to be swaddled anymore!  We’ve been using the blankets we hijacked from the hospital, and they’re perfect.
  8. Burp cloths – We got a couple of these from our registry.  I wish we had 100 more!  They have come in very handy, especially since we’ve got a puker!  Our favorites have been the Cloud b Baby Sleep Sheep with Rattle and 3 Spill Cloths – Natural.  They are super thick and absorbent, look fancy, wash easily, and came with a sheep rattle!
  9. Long-sleeved & footed onesies – like these, Under the Nile Butterfly Flower/Stripe Footie, have been our absolute favorites for sleeping and/or cooler days.  They still work perfectly for the carseat, her feet can’t escape so they stay warm, and she looks so cute!  Some of the ones we have also have foldover hand flaps, which are great since mittens won’t stay on her either.
  10. SLEEP!  I mean, duh… but seriously.  Parenting a newborn can be seriously overwhelming even when your baby is super relaxed most of the time.  Everyone tells you to “sleep when they sleep,” and that’s tough to do even when you’re completely exhausted.  When they sleep is also the best time for you to shower, pee alone, do the dishes, and put on some real clothing.  Don’t do any of that.  Just sleep.

We slept for almost five hours straight last night.  I am very much hoping that this might be the beginning of some regular sleep times, but as long as I am getting several hours at a stretch, I am more than pleased.  Now if only we can get her to stop throwing up….  she’s gaining weight though (up to 7lb, 15oz) so the doctors are less than concerned.  We’re going through laundry like I never imagined, but as long as she’s still growing and eating well we’re trying to stay calm.

I’m off to try and sleep!

8 Responses to “So They Say”

  1. Maureen May 21, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    I know some babies just throw up, it is what some of them do. Most doctors really don’t seemed concerned over this unless they are not gaining weight or seem like they are in pain. Laundry happens, a lot. Mine seemed to triple with each kid.

    Have you seen/looked at the Woombie (http://www.thewoombie.com/). It is awesome. If you ask me, it makes the baby look goofy but works. I want to say my son was about 7 lbs when I started using it (I have graduated to a larger size by this point). Both of my kids love(d) being swaddled. I found this shortly after my second was born. He still wears his to sleep and he is 10.5 months old.

  2. Caryn May 21, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    I am so proud of you. You’re such a good Momma.

  3. a May 21, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    I loved my Boppy – still do actually. It’s a really comfy pillow too.

    I hated the infant gowns, until we got one that was basically a bag with arms and a zipper down the front. That was GREAT in winter, but we couldn’t use it outside the house due to carseat issues.

    My husband was totally opposed to the butt paste and will only use A&D ointment. I have used desitin on occasion. That is something to keep in mind – when a barrier cream isn’t working, try something that keeps the baby dry. When you alternate them, any rash seems to go away faster.

    You’ll need those bigger swaddle blankets when she’s too big for the hospital ones but still wants to be swaddled – right around 3-4 months.

    My husband also wanted to dress our girl in nothing but sleepers. We had so many cute outfits, but she was always in her footie pajamas. Warm, comfortable, always covered – how can you go wrong?

    Glad things are going well. I hope you get many more 5+ hour stretches of sleep!

  4. Jen May 22, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    I had two that spit-up and even occasionally projectile vomited. With the 1st one, we tried everything to stop it….changing what I ate, while I was breastfeeding…changing formula….stopping half-way to burp….I can’t even remember what all we tried, but we found out with the first one that there just wasn’t a way to fix it. He was a spitter, but he was gaining weight so the docs weren’t worried. Eventually he grew out of it. We didn’t do anything different when my daughter came along. She was a spitter too. I don’t know if it was because we didn’t “try” to fix it or if we were just more patient, but it seemed like she grew out of it sooner. So, here is some more well-meaning advice from another parent. It’s gross and a pain in the neck, but as long as Evi is gaining wait…just wait it out. She will grow out of it.

  5. irunwithscissors May 22, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    yea, glad things are going well and you are finally getting a little sleep!

  6. CLC May 23, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    I would kill for some sleep right now! And I think your review of these things is pretty spot on. Although, Denis has already outgrown one swaddler, and I had to buy the bigger size! So Evi will catch up soon!

  7. maria May 25, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    ah, yes, spitting up – this is most often a laundry problem, not a medical problem.

    http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/reflux.html#normal

    3 of my 4 were “happy spitters” (spit up often, but gained well and were not in pain) and nursed and grew just fine. you are doing great.

  8. Rainy Pete May 26, 2009 at 8:00 am #

    A really cool list indeed. We loved our Boppy as well as it’s the best!

    For carseat issues and the sleepers you should try to find some with a hole for the seat belt in them. Someone got us two of them like that and I promptly set about with the sewing machine and scissors to make the rest of them the same way. Basically there’s a hole where the buckle of the car seat can poke through making it easy to buckle them in without a costume change!

    As for spitting up, I’ve always stood by my definition of baby;

    “A tiny person that converts food into laundry.”

Leave a Reply

