The Baby in The City

27 May

We’re spending the night in DC!  Sounds like fun, right?  Except we’re spending the night at Children’s Hospital…..

As previously mentioned, Evi has been doing more than her fair share of throwing up.  It has gotten so bad that she was throwing up ten times a day.  And I don’t mean spit up either.  I mean full on vomit, with distance and volume.  Over the weekend we also noticed she was having fewer and fewer dirty or wet diapers (thank goodness I have been tracking these things, because I would never remember) and that her soft spot seemed a lot more pronounced.  I just couldn’t kick the feeling that something bigger was wrong, especially since several days on baby Zantac seemed to be making no difference.

This morning I gave in to my mothering instinct and called the pediatrician to ask for another visit.  They had me come in after lunch to weigh her and make sure there was no issue.  She was weighed, and she has lost 15 ounces in the last week!!!  The doctors were extremely concerned, and she was showing signs of dehydration as well (like the fewer diapers and the more prominent soft spot) so they sent us straight to Children’s Hospital in DC.

The pediatricians had their suspicions about her condition, and I agreed thanks to some Googling.  The hospital here has confirmed that Evi has a condition called pyloric sentosist (?), which essentially means that the valve at the bottom of her stomach has started to thicken too early and she isn’t getting enough food into her intestines.

So tomorrow my three week old, my miracle of a daughter will have surgery to correct the problem.  She isn’t allowed to eat anything all night tonight, which I know she is going to be pretty miserable about.  They have her on IV fluids to replenish her lost hydration and to restore the balance to her electrolytes.  Sometimes n the morning she will be taken away from us for surgery.  Everyone tells us it is a simple procedure with an easy recovery….. but I am terrified.  She will be in surgery without us for around two hours, and then she will be in recovery for another four before she is allowed to try and eat anything.  She will be kept for another 24 hours to be sure she is doing well, and then we should be going home with a healthy baby who can eat without throwing up and will start piling on the weight like crazy.

I know it’s the right thing to do, and I know that it should make all of our lives better… but I have never been more afraid.  I cannot believe my tiny girl will be in surgery.  I hope everyone will be thinking of her tomorrow as she goes under.

My apologies if this post is a mess of typos and mistakes… it’s late, we’ve been up nonstop all day and at the hospital for hours now, and the screen on this hospital computer is across the room and inexplicably tiny.

I will try to update in the morning.

29 Responses to “The Baby in The City”

  1. Coggy May 27, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    Honey,
    What stress. You did exactly the right thing, you’re mothering instincts are spot on. I am so sorry you are having to go through this, but it’s good that you now have a reason for it and it’s fixable. Surgery is scary and I would be beside myself too, but just keep thinking good things and imagine your little lady glugging down her feeds and getting all chubby after her op.
    I’ll be thinking about you all. Much love and stay strong x x x x

  2. amyoliver May 27, 2009 at 2:45 am #

    I can’t even imagine what that is like. I really hope it all goes well, and you have your gorgeous girl home soon.

  3. Chica May 27, 2009 at 3:11 am #

    Thinking of Evi and your little family Heather, it is the right thing to do, of course, and a simple procedure but it’s only natural for you to be worried and scared. Sending lots of positive thoughts your way, hugs xx

  4. Bex May 27, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    OH BABBBBY!!!! 😦 Little One, you must, must, must get well and quick! Will be thinking about you all day tomorrow.

    Also, you guys Heather and Aaron!

  5. Lydia May 27, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    Thinking of you and little Evi. I hope everything goes smoothly and quickly.

  6. Barbara May 27, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    Wishing little miss Evi a speedy recovery (and her parents peace of mind)

    xxx

  7. Brandee May 27, 2009 at 4:55 am #

    😦 I’m sorry you, Aaron and little Evi have to go through this… I’d be scared too. I’m so glad you trusted your mommy instincts! I’ll pray right now and I’ll be thinking about you guys all day. HUGS!

  8. Bonny May 27, 2009 at 5:26 am #

    Will be thinking of you all. Please update when you can. Mothering instincts never seem to be wrong, I have found to be true.

  9. Cynthia May 27, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    I’m so sorry that you all have to go through this, but I know that Evi will be okay. These trials strengthen us. It is pretty scary though. You will be in our prayers.

  10. coffeegrl May 27, 2009 at 6:47 am #

    Oh heavens ! What a terribly stressful thing for parents to have to endure! I’ll think of you all and hope for the best and an end to the days of vomit.

  11. a May 27, 2009 at 7:18 am #

    How frightening! I am saying a prayer for an easy surgery and a quick recovery for little Evi.

  12. Tara May 27, 2009 at 7:21 am #

    I am thinking and praying as hard as I can. Never doubt your instincts, you are her mother and you know what is best and when something isn’t right. I’ll be thinking about you all, all day. Love you!

  13. Mom to Baby J May 27, 2009 at 7:33 am #

    Thinking of you guys. Sending lots of positive thoughts and hugs your way.

  14. Leah May 27, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    Oh Heather, how stressful. I will be thinking of you all this morning. Megan had some issues as a baby, and had an upper GI done when she was 6 weeks old. We were worried because my husband’s brother had piloric stenosis as a baby, and we suspected that’s what it was. Turned out it wasn’t that, she just had wicked reflux. I felt lucky back then, and now I just feel awful for you.

    I will pray for Evi to be a trooper, and for you guys to try not to lose your minds for the 6 frighteningly long hours today. Please update when you can.

  15. n. May 27, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    prayers for you. i have a really good friend whose daughter (now 5 and totally healthy) had the same thing. she would love to talk to you if you need to talk to a parent who has been there.

  16. meghan May 27, 2009 at 8:34 am #

    Thinking of you and Miss Evi. Hope the sugery is boring and routine and you get a happy healthy Evi back nice and soon! Please let us local ladies know if you need anything at all

  17. Mrs.spit May 27, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    Ahh. That sucks. FWIW, my cousin had the same surgery 30 years ago. It really is very simple.

    Which does not make it any less scary.

    Hoping Evi is back to a puke-free normal in no time!

  18. everyunderdogwillhaveitsday May 27, 2009 at 8:42 am #

    Oh sweet Angel, thinking of you all. Sending all my love your way.

  19. Caryn May 27, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Thinking of you and your little one. You’re such a good mother. Hang in there! *hug*

  20. tash May 27, 2009 at 9:30 am #

    OMG, I’m so wildly sorry, and so very relieved that you were alert enough to notice something was wrong! (YAY MOMMY!) DC Children’s is fucking awesome, you’re in good hands. Which I know means shit. Thinking of you all, and wishing a speedy recovery to Miss Evi. Post when you can.

  21. Beautiful Mess May 27, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    Oh no! Glad you took her in and listened to you mama instincts! Sending you and Evi many prayers and holding all of you close to my heart.
    *HUGS*

  22. Sarah May 27, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    I will be thinking of her (and you) as she goes in for surgery.
    Pyloric stenosis is something I’ve heard of quite a bit, I think it’s pretty darn common. I don’t know if that’s any consolation though.

  23. daisybones May 27, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Sending you loving vibes of strength and health. xoxo!!!

  24. Allegra May 27, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    it was the right thing to do. I will send Evi all the energy and light. Evi will be ok…she is a fighter!

  25. MOMMY May 27, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    SHE’s OUT OF SURGERY and she did very well. H&A should be seeing her right about now, then she will have to have Pedialyte until she tolerates it well, then tolerate 2 – 2oz feedings of breast milk; then she can go home! Thanks all for your thoughts, prayers, etc. for our special little girl. We love you!! Patty (Heather’s Mom)

  26. Becky May 27, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Hang in there, sweetie. I know how scary it is. Trust me, Evi will kick this surgery’s ass just like Amelia did.

    Doesn’t make it any less freaky.

    Love you both.

  27. Julia May 27, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    This is so very scary.
    I am hoping that by now miss Evi is out of surgery and is even back to eating. Thinking of you…

  28. Luminous Hailer Star May 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    Love to you three and prayers coming your way.

  29. CLC May 27, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    I hope everything went ok. My stomach is in my throat thinking of you and the stress. Thinking of all of you!

Leave a Reply

