The Hope in The Moment

27 May

Evi came through the surgery really well!  It was over quickly, and the doctors were very happy with it.  She spent two hours with me, Aaron, and her Grandma K in the recovery room, and then we were transferred back up to our room.

She has done lots of sleeping, which is to be expected since she is so tiny and has not only had so much system stress, but also anesthesia and pain killers.  She did manage to eat some Pedialyte around 5pm, and I think she held most of it down even though she did spit up some right after eating.  The doctors say that is normal for now, as long as she stops.

If all goes well and she is able to keep down two consecutive feedings of milk sometime soon, we will be headed home tomorrow.  I am excited to think we can come home with or sweet little girl!

Of course I can’t help worrying about all the terrifying little things they tell you “could” happen after surgery, but so far she is doing super well.  I wish I could hold her more too, but between the IV line, the oxygen monitor, the respiration monitor, the heart rate monitor, and the incisions in her stomach I am so worried I will hurt her!  I held her to feed and burp her, and I think I will try again soon.

Thank you all so much for all of the well wishes and reassurances!  I love hearing all of the positive stories out there!  I will try to update again soon!

6 Responses to “The Hope in The Moment”

  1. Bonny May 27, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    I’m so, so glad her surgery went well. Hopefully you all will be headed home tomorrow.

  2. irunwithscissors May 27, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    love you sister! happy to hear things went well!

  3. n. May 27, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    i know it can be scary with all the monitors, etc. i felt that way when the boys were in the nicu. but the nurses are usually more than happy to help you get set up to hold your child. you might ask them if you can kangaroo (skin to skin), its great for both of you! take care. i am just thrilled that evi came through surgery so well.

  4. a May 27, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    I’m glad Evi did well with her surgery. I hope her recovery is so quick that you are amazed by her anew. Good luck.

  5. Jenny May 28, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    Good news – I’m glad to hear she’s doing well!!

  6. Rainy Pete May 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    I think the worst part of any surgery is the lawyer required briefing you of the possibilities. Terrifying stuff even if it doesn’t happen. I’m thrilled to hear that the lawyer pacifying phrases were unnecessary and she is doing great.

Leave a Reply

