The Angel in the Details

28 May

We’re going home this morning!  Last night went really well, and she was able to keep down two ounces of milk at a feeding, so we’re happy and ready to get home again!

She is a little fussy this morning, but I think that is to be expected after surgery, and now that she is only taking Tylenol for the pain instead of the heavier stuff they gave her in the operating room.

I have to say, I have been thinking so much of Aodin in these last few days.  I know it might make me sound crazy, but I honestly think he has been here with us and watching over his precious little sister.  I think he kept watch while we slept, and I have felt him near us every moment since we were admitted to the hospital.  It has just made me feel more blessed to be reminder of my whole beautiful family.

This hasn’t been easy, but especially in the grand scheme of things it also hasn’t been too terribly hard.  We had a stressful week, and a lot of fear and uncertainty for a little while, but in the end our little girl is coming home with us healthy and happy.  I can’t wait to see how she’s put the weight back on in a few days when we take her back to the pediatrician.

Thank you, all of you, for your support and love through all of this.  Your prayers and thoughts and wishes were priceless when we felt so uncertain and afraid.  I hope you all have a beautiful weekend!

12 Responses to “The Angel in the Details”

  1. Tina May 28, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    You do not sound crazy at all!! You’re sweet wonderful man was there lovin on his baby sister. No question about it, it’s what big bothers do!! =)

  2. Brandee May 28, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    I am sooo happy to hear that you’re going home!

  3. tash May 28, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    Hang tough, Evi!

    Glad you’re on the way home. I imagine it must have been harrowing for everyone involved.

  4. Leah May 28, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    Wonderful news! I’ll be praying for a speedy recovery and a happy, plump Evi very soon.

  5. Beautiful Mess May 28, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    YAY for going home! I’m glad it went well. I think it’s very sweet that you felt Aodin with you. I believe it, too!
    *HUGS*

  6. Barbara May 28, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    SO pleased miss Evi is doing well (and you too)!

    xxx

  7. Becky May 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    So glad Evi is doing well. It’s so scary.

  8. Sarah May 28, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    So glad you’re all going home healthier than ever :)!

  9. Emma May 28, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    Oh Heather. What a terrifying experience for you! At least you have an explaination and it was fixed! Poor little love…she’ll be a little chubby cheeks in no time now! xxx

  10. Rainy Pete May 28, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    There’s nothing crazy about hope. I have little doubt that Aodin was up there watching out for his sister. Maybe even happy to have found out why he was called up after all. I’m sure she’ll recover rapidly and hope she’ll be eating and sleeping like a champ soon.

  11. ame i. May 29, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    you don’t sound crazy at all, hon. Hope you all enjoy your weekend, too.

  12. irunwithscissors May 29, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    so glad that everything is going smoothly now!

Leave a Reply

