I’m Back

13 Jun

I can’t believe I have gone this long without blogging again! The mysterious intermittent connection I was hijacking last time promptly disappeared and never returned, leaving me with zero connection and going through total withdrawal. I have resorted to re-watching a zillion DVDs and, of course, napping a lot. Fortunately, the cable guy showed up this morning and got us reconnected to the world. Thanks, cable guy! Of course, I will try not to mention how he showed up two hours after the scheduled time window, thus interrupting my nap…

We’ve been doing well, adjusting to life with our new version of Evi, who is mostly content and easy to handle. She has her fussy moments, and she’s currently getting over the last of a raging case of thrush (thank god I am not nursing…) but she is otherwise happy, healthy, and growing! As of our last checkup, two weeks exactly after her scary check up, she is up to 8lbs, 3oz. That means she’s gained over a pound in the two weeks following her (clearly successful and much needed) surgery.

Her pediatrician is thrilled, and she is now a little superstar at the office! When we show up, which has been every week lately thanks to the thrush, everyone knows who she is and several of the nurses come over to say hello. This last time one of them sat in on our appointment just because she wanted to see her! So cool, right? I’ve been thinking about sending them a card from Evi to say thanks for such great care.

In non-baby news, the new house is great. It is still an absolute mess and we are nowhere near unpacked, but we’re loving the new house and neighborhood. Our immediate neighbors seem like super nice people, complete with little dogs and a young son, so we’re looking forward to getting to know them better sometime soon. Our plan is to invite them over, along with everyone who came to help us move, for a summer barbecue… but that would require not only being completely unpacked, but also having the house clean and presentable, and buying a grill. So… it could be a while.

Owning a new home has already cost us an unbelievable amount of money in the form of supplies… lightbulbs, batteries, an extension ladder, a weedwhacker, new doorknobs and deadbolts for all of the outer doors (the old ones are bizarrely missing)… and the list of things we still need is growing. It’s a little bit stressful, but we’re just trying to take things one at a time and handle only the most necessary things for now. The rest can be taken care of one thing at a time as the money appears.

Aaron is driving a lot farther to work now, but he swears it is worth every minute to own a home. I would have to agree. It does mean getting up early to drive him to work on the days that I need the car for something, but the truth is I would likely be up anyway, since Miss Evi is routinely waking up between 6 and 6:30am. Hard to complain, since she is also usually in bed by 11pm!!

Our summer is shaping up nicely. We’ll be headed down to Florida in July for my Mom’s family reunion. I am collecting travel tips for making it work with a two month old. Does anyone know off hand what the rules are about carrying on milk/formula? I imagine we’ll have to feed her powdered formula on the plane, as I am assuming a bottle of milk won’t be allowed.

I’m off for now… the Poopinator over here just made the poop face.

6 Responses to “I’m Back”

  1. Lydia June 13, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    Welcome back. She is beautiful. TSA rules for formula can be found here:
    http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/children/formula.shtm

  2. Rasee June 13, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Evi drinks milk? I’m confused. But flying with formula is pretty easy. You can get water on the plane and you can get those portable formula containers where you can measure out the powder for each feeding and just pour that compartment into a bottle.

  3. Caryn June 13, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    So glad you’re back! *hugs*

  4. Laurie June 13, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    I was worried about you and Evi and such and such, I’m glad everything is coming together for a beautiful family that deserves it OH so much.

    With much love and continued internet access! 🙂

  5. Mom to Baby J June 15, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    You can take pumped milk on the plane. Check out the link above. I just did all the research a month or two ago for our Chicago trip. Glad you’re all doing well.

  6. Maureen June 15, 2009 at 7:52 am #

    At least as of last month, if you have an infant/baby with you, you can take formula on (pre-mixed I mean). As I am breastfeeding, I did not try this. You do go through a special line (or at least the 2 airports I went through security at), which means less waiting in line. Check the car seat and stroller at the gate (unless Evi has her own seat, then bring the car seat on the plane). I’ve never had a problem traveling with my kids. I always have my kids drink on the way up and down to clear their ears (if they took paci’s that would work too).

Leave a Reply

