Discover: Health

15 Jun

When I was still pregnant, I told myself I would take one week to adjust to life with a baby.  On week two, I would start eating better, and by week three or four I would be exercising again.

Riiiiight…..

Here I am at week six, and only just now getting a handle on things.  At four weeks or so I did start tracking what I was eating… not trying to eat any better, but at least getting a handle on keeping track again.  That effort was totally sunk when we went without internet for a week after moving.  So yesterday, I finally committed to trying again.

I joined the Discovery Health National Body Challenge.  It isn’t the most user friendly thing in terms of tracking food, since I rarely use the suggested menus (which would require me to use a specific shopping list instead of just making use of what I already have at home.)  It does offer some great recipes though, and the exercise aspect is awesome.  It is totally free, and gives you workout videos to do.

Yesterday was pretty much a failure.  I ate way too many calories, and I didn’t exercise at all.  I have to admit though that I don’t really care.  This effort will never work for me if I stress about missed or imperfect days.  I have a beautiful baby to concentrate on, and the rest will just have to fall into place on its own.

Today, however, is worth celebrating.  I had a Fiber One bar and a cup of fresh blueberries for breakfast, lots of water, and managed a half hour of exercise using the videos on the site.  I know the workout wasn’t too tough, but I am SO out of shape right now that it felt like a punishing workout!  All the same, I am proud of myself for doing it, and excited to get back on track.  As much as it hurts, as much as I sweat, there is also a jubilant sense of freedom in finally being able to move my body again in healthy ways.

Overall, I gained 44 pounds during the pregnancy!  It was significantly more than I intended, and all piled on at the end of the pregnancy.  However, I have now lost all but 14 pounds of it.  Granted, this was through ZERO effort of my own, but all the same I am feeling good about it.  Of course, my body is nowhere near the same shape or size that it was at this same weight before Evi, so now I am working on figuring out how to dress this new shape.  I may have to find new jeans and definitely some new (cheap) shirts.  My prepregnancy jeans do fit again, but they don’t feel very comfortable on my expanded abdomen.

Suggestions?

8 Responses to “Discover: Health”

  1. Jaime June 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    I have no suggestion, just a, I hear ya!
    I gained only 25lbs in pregnancy with Evan and lost it all right away, then due to depression and an immobilizing injury, put back on all 25, then lost 10 and now hovering around 15lbs heavier then I was and 40lbs heavier then I should be. Your body is never the same, my boobs never shrunk completely still a D cup was a C, up to DD, down to D, feet went up a size, waist line went up a couple sizes with a looser belly, ribs even look bigger in diameter. I was just starting to get really fit (running the 5K race) when I found out I am pregnant again and have to take it easy to avoid pelvis injury..so now I have to walk lots and be careful what I eat, luckily 8 weeks in the first trimester is kicking my butt with nausea so I am not eating too much outside of essentials. My pants are falling off 🙂 but I know I will make up for it in the 3rd trimester 🙂
    It’s worth it for the littleuns but it’s a tough body complex at the same time.

  2. a June 15, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    No suggestions either…I think it’s the most difficult thing to adjust to a new shape that doesn’t do what it used to. Especially when you have sisters-in-law who snap right back into shape. Good luck with your program!

  3. irunwithscissors June 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    yay sister! I am soo proud of you! today was a great start!

  4. Luminous Hailer Star June 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Pants suggestion: Check out Sonoma at your local Kohls. I’ve a belly, cuz my body thinks it’s pregnant due to endometriosis and birth control. The Sonoma brand was the first pair of jeans I’ve found in ages that were comfortable, hugging the curves without being tight. They also hold up well. (I used to love Faded Glory jeans until they started using cheap materials and several pairs all ripped at the pocket corners so now I buy the Sonoma which is a bit more expensive but better all around due to the quality).

  5. Caryn June 16, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    I don’t have any suggestions, but I agree with your sister. Yay you! You’re off to a great start!

  6. Brandi June 16, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    Honey, it is almost TEN months later and I’m STILL taking it day by day. I had the same thought process as you, and even tried to jump right back into WW meetings weeks after having C, but it takes time. I pray you don’t go through the mind struggle that I did, but if you do, know that you’re not alone. ❤

    Did any of the pants I brought back to you work in the interim? Buying clothes in between sizes is the PITS. 😦 I had to buy a winter wardrobe and I just started buying some summer shirts. Ugh.

    I'm so proud of you for taking this first steps to a healthier you. As always, you inspire me SO!

  7. amyoliver June 16, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Hello, I am delurking to comment on this subject very close to my heart!!

    I think 9 months up, 9 months down is the best advice I ever had. Sadly, it has taken me much longer, but still useful words, I feel!!

    I would say that if you are really keen to wear jeans, get yourself a pair of Spanx. While they are not the most comfortable thing to wear around the house, they are fab for going out when you just want a bit more control.

    For daywear, one thing that is really trendy here (I live in London) is to wear leggings with a tunic top or a short dress. I find the leggings (if you get a good pair) do a good job at a bit of tummy control, and are so comfy (I have these and they are fab) http://www.topshop.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?beginIndex=0&viewAllFlag=&catalogId=32051&storeId=13052&categoryId=151926&parent_category_rn=133494&productId=1212710&langId=-1

    And maybe a top like this?
    http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=5438&vid=1&pid=662814&scid=662814002

    Not sure if this is a bit too warm for over there at the moment, but perhaps if you put a floaty dress over the leggings?

    http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=15292&vid=1&pid=675552&scid=675552022

    Add a pair of cool sandals, and you will be the yummiest mummy in town!!

  8. Val June 16, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    Honey, go easy on yourself – Evi’s only SIX WKS OLD!!??!!
    I’ve heard many variations on the 9 month – 12 month rule, but I myself lost 21 lbs in the 1st 3 wks after my son’s birth thanks to the miracle of lactation. (We won’t talk about the rebound; let’s just say I’d LOVE to be back at that weight again!)
    When I think of all the time & effort I WASTED trying to cultivate a culturally-approved shape & size, it makes me a little sick at my stomach. Jaime has laid it all out there – your body is never the same and that’s OKAY.

Leave a Reply

