Nine Weeks and Counting

6 Jul

Evi had her two month checkup last week, and it went really well.  She’s up to 9lb, 14oz!  She’s growing, healthy and happy, and the doctor says she’s a little ahead on her milestones as well!  Of course, at this age her milestones involve things like holding up her head, the strength of her legs, and vocalizations.  She’s a talker for sure.  When she’s finally doing something other than cooing, I think we’re going to have all sorts of great conversations around here!  I am so happy to see how well she’s doing now!

We’re headed to Florida next week to go to my mom’s family reunion, and we’re getting another Evi party while we’re there!  I am so excited to see everyone and let them all meet our little girl!  We have such a great family, and I know it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Today I started a new plan for getting healthy again.  I was trying to track my food and such, and I’ve done a pretty good job of at least keeping track.  I don’t get exercise in more than two or three days a week, but I think that’s pretty good for now.  Instead of trying to commit to any sort of formal weight loss plan right now, I’ve decided to go back to the Mediterranean diet I’ve done before.  It’s just a lot of fruits and veggies, olive oil, healthy lean proteins, and as many fresh and local ingredients as possible.  When I did it before I loved the food, felt full, and lost weight.  As an added bonus, it doesn’t require me to count anything, weigh anything, or track anything.  We’ll see how it goes.

We painted 3/4 of one wall in the kitchen this weekend.  We wanted to warm up the color a little bit, since right now it’s just beige.  We found a pretty gold color and brought home a sample can, so I painted until I ran out of paint.  We’re going to live with it for a few days before committing to buying the paint, but I think it’s going to be perfect.  We also bought the paint to do Evi’s nursery a light gray.  The can is sitting in her room right now, so I think I’ll actually paint this coming weekend, and then I can put up all of the decor and finally have one completely and totally finished room in the house.  A new house is fun, but it’s also tiring and expensive!

I’ve been thinking about Aodin as often as ever.  I wondered if I might not think of him so much when Evi was here, but in the end she hasn’t really changed anything about the way that I miss him and the way that I think of him now.  She is a totally separate thing for us, and that makes it so much easier.  I can’t imagine raising her while always comparing her in my head to what he would have been.  I’ve had such an interesting experience in motherhood.  I never thought being a mother would include loss and grief, but also never knew that the pain could be so rewarding.  I feel lucky to have my family, as imperfect as we may be.

One Response to “Nine Weeks and Counting”

  1. Brandee July 7, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    Two months?!? How did that happen??

    And I think you need to post some photos of your kitchen wall… I love paint. 🙂

Leave a Reply

