Growth

30 Jul

I think Evi is going through a growth spurt… or she’s starting to get teeth already.  Either way, she’s been unseasonably cranky for the past two days.  I’ve checked her temperature, and she’s still eating well, so we’re leaning toward the growth and/or teeth theories.

I’ve been spending my time lately thinking a lot about getting a better handle on my health now that we’ve established a routine at home.  Summer is a great time to do this, since farmer’s markets and farm stands are pretty prevalent in this area.  We got a huge green tomato from our neighbor the other day and realized we’d both be pretty satisfied surviving on local sweet corn and fried green tomatoes for the rest of the summer.  I realize the fried part diminishes the healthy aspects of it a bit, but at least they are only lightly breaded in corn meal and are fried in a very shallow pool of extra virgin olive oil.  They are just so good.  I am excited to head out this weekend and check out the offerings at some local stands.  There is a decent sized farmer’s market this Sunday that I’d like to go to, and I know we’ll pass several roadside stands along the way.

I’ve been cooking again lately, and I forgot how much I enjoyed it.  I’ve become really comfortable with making meals out of ingredients we already have, and keeping a supply of inexpensive stuff to toss into salads, mix with chicken, or eat all on their own.  I’ve become a huge fan of all sorts of beans.

This weekend I also have grand intentions to (finally) paint the nursery, put the finishing touches on the decor in the kitchen, and potentially paint some accent walls here and there with the free Glidden paint we got.  We’ll see how much (if any) I actually get done.

Wishing you all a fantastic end to your week.

2 Responses to “Growth”

  1. Service is joy August 1, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Wow! Makes me wish I could cook….
    And I am definitely wanting some fried green tomatoes now.

    • Yummy Sushi Pajamas August 1, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

      Anyone can cook! You just have to get in there and start trying, and before you know it the whole process starts making a lot of sense!

Leave a Reply

