Busy

24 Aug

Sometimes a weekend is so full of coming and going that it begins to feel like the time is stretching out.  This weekend was one of those times.

Friday morning, preparing for the arrival of my parents and brother, was a whirlwind of unpacking and organizing that was immediately followed by the arduous unloading of some beautiful furniture brought to us from Florida.  Thanks Mom and Dad, the furniture is awesome!  After a long drive, we had a wonderful dinner with friends we hadn’t seen in far too long.  We enjoyed great food, a perfectly behaved beautiful baby girl, and survived the long drive back home.

Saturday was full of shopping for necessities…  groceries and housewares for us, and an armload of supplies to prepare my brother for college.  He’s moved back to Maryland now, and is getting ready to start the semester at a new school.  My parents sent him off with notebooks, paper, deoderant, towels, and an army of other supplies to prepare him for life on his own for a while.  In the afternoon, he packed up his car and drove off.  My mother cried.  It is always hard to say goodbye to your kids, I guess, even if a part of you is looking forward to their leaving the nest.  Saturday night we went out for a lovely dinner nearby, and then were promptly almost drowned in the rains that seemed to approach hurricane strength.  We made it home, safe and damp, and we all went to bed early.

My parents left in the quite of dawn, managing to leave the house on Sunday morning without anyone hearing them go.  We’d said our goodbyes the night before, and my parents left to deliver the last of the supplies to my brother before making the long journey back to Florida.  They spent the day driving, and as it turned out so did we.

We had an offer from a long time friend to use a car of his until we’ve gotten a replacement.  We drove four hours to pick it up and spend some time with them.  Evi was, as usual, content and a fantastic traveler.  She was incredibly interested in their new dog, who wanted nothing to do with her.  After a few short hours, we packed up to head home, knowing the drive would seem to take forever.  We stopped midway for us all to have some dinner.  By the time we got home, all three of us were nearly overcome with exhaustion.  Evi was so tired that she screamed through 1.5 ounces of her nighttime bottle before collapsing on my shoulder and proceeding to sleep through the night without a peep despite not finishing even half of her normal 6.5 ounces.

I am expecting her to wake up hungry this morning, though I know she will wake up with her usual smiles.  Today will be spent calling the insurance agent, who will let us know when we will receive the check for our car.  It has officially been totaled, and we’ll use the money to buy something to replace it.  I have no idea what, but we’re likely going to check out a local auction place and we may walk away with two cars instead of one.  Once the insurance man has been worked out, I’ll be harassing a graduate program and sending beautiful birthday wishes to my aunt and my favorite little girl, my beautiful Brandi’s daughter Claire.

I’m hoping today will be laid back, and I will have the chance to write down all of the questions I have to ask the doctor at Evi’s four month checkup, which is in less than a week now.  I can’t believe it is so soon.

3 Responses to “Busy”

  1. Brandee August 24, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    I can’t believe she’s almost 4 months… She looks like such a sweetie pie. 🙂

    I just finished The Traveler last night, and I LOVED it! I was hooked as soon as I began. You are an incredible writer. Are you planning on writing another soon??

  2. Yummy Sushi Pajamas August 24, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    I am actually changing the Traveler a bit so that I can send it to agents. If I can generate some professional interest in it, then yes I will be writing another!

  3. Beautiful Mess August 24, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    WHEW! You make ME tired ;o)

    Glad everything is working out with a vehicle for you. What a stressful situation!

    Your visit with your parents sounds wonderful. How great that you all got to spend such a lovely time together.

    Enjoy your day!
    *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

