Flash

16 Sep

When you love someone the way I do my family, you can’t help sometimes being overcome by fears of something happening to them.  Of course most of the time those fears are easy to dismiss, until…

This morning we went to get check ups from the doctor.  Since it’s been a while, we also got TB tests done.  As we were leaving the office, Aaron said he felt “weird.”  I told him he looked a little green and we agreed that we’d sit in the lobby for a while after the one floor elevator ride.

The elevator doors closed and Aaron leaned against the back wall.  Except he didn’t stop.  He slumped, fell to the floor, and started to twitch all over.  Being so very cool under pressure, I screamed for help and cried and tried to hold him up.  Although he was only out for a total of maybe a minute, I will never be able to erase the mental image of him slumped on that elevator floor.

He went to the ER.  They checked his blood pressure, oxygen saturation, blood sugar…  They did an EKG.  They gave him oxygen.  All of the tests came back normal.  We still have no idea why it happened.  The best theory the doctors could come up with is that he was feeling anxiety on top of some work/money stress he’s having and basically had an anxiety attack in response to the TB injection.

I have no idea.  All I know is that my heart fell with him, and I still don’t feel right.  For a moment, just a brief flash, I could imagine losing him and it made me feel so lost.  I could never love someone else the way that I love him.  Thankfully, he is alright.  We’re home now and he’s taking it super easy.  I forbid him to go back to work today, so he’s enjoying the chance to relax.

I am just so thankful he’s alright.  Now I’ll be watching him like a hawk in the coming days and weeks.  I never want to see the signs again… the glassy eyes, the pale greenish tone to his skin….  Aaron says it’s pay back for when I did the same thing.  Let me tell you, it’s terrifying.

4 Responses to “Flash”

  1. Aunt Becky September 16, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    My heart is in my throat. So glad everything is okay.

  2. Jason Rohrblogger September 16, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    I usually have to drink a $100 bar tab before I pass out. I could have just gotten a TB test and an elevator ride!

    I hope he’s feeling better. Take care of Aaron. He’s the only one you’ve got!

  3. Beautiful Mess September 17, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    OH NO! How scary! Glad he’s OK. Sending you lots of love, that was a scary moment!
    *HUGS*

  4. Luminous Hailer Star September 19, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    Glad he’s alright. That’s hella scary.

    How do they know he didn’t have an allergic reaction to the TB test?

Leave a Reply

