Personal Question

11 Oct

Can I ask something personal?  For those of you who’ve had a child… how long did it take before you were… fully healed?  I mean, how long before you were feeling physically normal again?  I am still having some (mostly minor) complications and I am wondering if I am a giant freak and/or extremely unlucky.

Thanks.

9 Responses to “Personal Question”

  1. amyoliver October 11, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Really sorry to hear you are still having trouble. With my first, I had an episiotomy and it took about 12 to 14 weeks to heal. With my second, I tore along the episitomy scar, and that only took about 4 weeks to heal. But to be honest, 3 years on from my second, the area still feels odd at times, and if I sit in a funny way, it can feel like it is being pulled at. I guess it is the scar tissue.

    I guess the answer though is that I am not sure if I feel ‘physically normal’ again, as I think there is always going to be a difference, and I notice that if I don’t do pelvic floor exercises, I have bladder and bowel problems. My doctor says this it a fact of life after two very large babies delivered very quickly, and the best medicine is to look after my pelvic floor. If you aren’t getting anywhere with your current doctor, seek a second opinion. Hope this helps.

    • bustedbabymaker October 12, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

      I’m not sure yet…I don’t have anything that I would describe as complications, but definitely don’t feel completely normal. I had a second degree tear and a few stitches, so nothing TOO traumatic. It hurt terribly for about a week and a half after delivery and after that was fine, but I still got (and still get) occasional shooting pains in the vicinity, and “marital relations” are very painful…with no signs of improvement yet.

      Hang in there, hon, hoping things improve for you soon.

  2. missingone October 11, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    I felt pretty normal about a week afterwards both times. In fact, the second time, I was on the elliptical 4 days after giving birth. Maybe I’m the freak.
    And both times I was also itching to get into the sack again. (again, not the normal response)

    I will say that if you are overly tired or overdoing it, you can have breakthrough bleeding. I remember this happened one of the times and taking it easy a bit made me heal faster and made the bleeding go away again (it had gone and then returned)

    If you are worried, it never hurts to schedule an appt with the doc or nurse.

  3. julia October 11, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    If this is about painful sex, it got way better for me after I got my period for the first time and started ovulating again.

  4. Meghan October 11, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    Well I was the exact opposite of the last comment. I didn’t feel completely back to normal down there until she was about 9 months old. This was the same time i dropped to only nursing morning and night and my cycles came back. Sex was horribly painful until then. I have no idea how people get pregnant agin so soon post partum

    hope you heal up nice and fast

  5. Cynthia October 11, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    It always took me a minimum of 3 months to feel human again 🙂 Just kidding, I guess I was always human. It took about 3 months to get into the new routine of having a baby and adjusting to everything like lack of sleep, realizing your time is not really your own anymore, figuring out how to go places with a baby, just all the ways your life changes. It will even change with the second baby. Then when the third comes, you won’t know how to juggle everything because you only have 2 hands, but not a third for the new baby. After that you’re a pro! It’s never easy, but there are so many rewards. Does this help? Three months for the body….

  6. changehappens50 October 12, 2009 at 10:15 pm #

    Wow honey; it’s probably very much different strokes for different folks, I can’t say I really remember the basic details, the thing I do remember is that after Ryan, I was never wholly the same….I think it depends on the size of the baby, the amount of trauma, how quickly your own body heals, etc. Just keep checking w/your doc and never be afraid to ask them if something is “normal” for you! That’s what they are there for….I love you!!

  7. ame i. October 13, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    My first was a c-section and it took about 7 weeks. My second was a VBAC with an episiotomy. I had a raging UTI not long after the birth. I didn’t feel “normal” for 10 weeks and even then sex was painful for months.

  8. Jenny F. Scientist October 13, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    Well, if you mean energy levels, ask me in a few months (Pumpkin is 6.5 months old) – or maybe years. As for marital relations, well, the hormonal changes do make rather a difference, and there hasn’t been a lot of marital action, if you get my drift.

    Some people have minor nerve damage that can take up to a year to heal- that’s normal too!

Leave a Reply

