Eavesdropping

26 Oct

I am sitting at Panera listening to a group of women talk about their kids.  These are the odd, vague generalizations I am hearing:

  • breastfed babies don’t get fat
  • once they are breastfed they won’t take formula ever

These are the sort of comments that crack me up.  Are they true for your kids?  Sure, maybe they are.  But they are by no means some sort of kid facts that are true across the board.  I was especially amused when they increased their volume while discussing the worth of breastfeeding as I fed Evi her bottle.

They also launched into a discussion of the latest parenting scandal, in which Disney is offering refunds to Baby Einstein purchasers because it not only does not benefit kids but can, apparently, harm them.  My issue here is that the article that explains how children can be harmed does not name the videos by name.  In fact, it just generally says that children under two should never watch television.  Of course, it then goes on to explain that the harm comes from children doing ANY sedentary activity (including drawing and reading) for several hours at a time.  The study was commissioned to address obesity concerns in children.

Are our children getting fatter?  Well, sadly, yes.  However, that means that the article set out to prove a particular point and, as such, is a bit biased.  I don’t believe for one instant that children should sit in front of the television for hours, but I do think that there is ZERO harm in a little bit of tv now and then.  I also think that there is nothing wrong with a few hours a day of reading or drawing, as long as you’re making sure they also get at least an hour of real, aggressive physical activity per day as well.

As in everything else, it is all about balance.  BALANCE!

6 Responses to “Eavesdropping”

  1. Jeff Atkinson October 26, 2009 at 1:00 pm #

    Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  2. a October 26, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    My mostly breast fed baby was also chubby…must have been the formula we had to supplement with once a day because she was hungrier than I could accomodate.

    Also, my girl does like her TV, and sometimes I have to force her to go outside. But then I have to force her to go back inside. Whatever she’s doing, she wants to keep doing, until I redirect her.

    That was nice of the women to talk louder when you were giving Evi a bottle!

  3. Liz October 26, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    Well my son was a preemie and went from 4.7 lbs to 20.8 in under 8 months having only received breast milk and a handful of solid foods. While not fat the breastmilk has given him real weight gain, even beyond the extra calorie fortifier we used for a while.

    I’m constantly amazed that everyone knows the truth because of their own experience rather than acknowledging that everyone is different and responds differently.

  4. Beautiful Mess October 26, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    MAN! Women like those royally piss me off! Yes, all of that could pertain to THEIR children, but not every child. I’m totally OK with my kids watching some TV, playing video games or playing on the computer. Those women would hate me and my parenting style and I’m OK with that. My kids are happy and healthy, it’s all about how YOU parent, not shoving your opinion down every ones throats.

    Your posts lately have really struck chords with me! I feel as if I’m ranting and raving on your blog. Sorry!
    *HUGS*

  5. Cherrye at My Bella Vita October 28, 2009 at 4:28 am #

    Interesting about the Baby Einstein thing, I haven’t heard of that. I don’t have children yet, but my nephew watched the Baby Einstein tapes when he was a baby. He recognized the French language (that I was speaking to him and that he got from the tape) and he was reading by the time he was four. If the tapes didn’t help him, they sure didn’t hurt him!

  6. hailerstar October 28, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    Friend of mine who is a real Disney Fiend pointed out to me that the Baby Einstein lawsuit was brought about by a woman who was basically disgruntled that these videos didn’t make her kids smarter. So she sued claiming false advertising. Somehow the company did agree to offer refunds to anyone who wants them but I think it’s more an appeasing attempt than an actual admission of guilt. Basically the woman had a vendetta and the company wanted to keep its customers happy (including anyone who may have felt slighted). Though the parents I know who have used Baby Einstein have experienced no problems with their kids.
    And you are right, studies show that kids under two shouldn’t be watching television for various reasons on how it affects their health and growth.

Leave a Reply

