Catching Up

30 Nov

Now that NaNoWriMo is over, I feel like I finally have some time to catch up on the blogging.  I know it’s been sparse over here, but I’m hoping that will change.  I’ve got some work to do in the coming weeks that will take some time, but hopefully I can come by a lot before the holidays to say hello and update about life.

So what’s up with me and mine?

Evi is doing really well.  She had her very first fever this past week.  I was nervous about it at first, but in the end she turned out just fine with some extra sleep, baby Tylenol, and lots of love.  The whole thing made me realize that I am a pretty good mom if I can just relax and trust my instincts, but why is that so hard?  Why can’t I just do what seems right and stop worrying about whether it matches up exactly with what the pediatrician or the magazines or parenting websites say I should be doing?  I know it’s because I adore that little girl, and I am just terrified of making a decision that could give her anything less than the best.

She was so adorable when she was sick.  Her Uncle Ryan was here to visit, and she was trying SO hard to smile at him even though she clearly felt awful.  She’s doing great now, eating lots of solids and still showing a markedly decreased interest in her bottles.  And based on the smell of formula, I SO don’t blame her.  Ew!

She’s giving “kisses” now too.  If you put your face right in hers and ask for a kiss, she opens her mouth and sort of licks your face.  It would be gross if it weren’t the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

We think she’s teething right now.  Her drool amounts have, if possible, increased even more and she seems just a little cranky.  She always wants to be chewing on something too, so Sophie and some other teethers have become her new best friends.  She goes in on Thursday for her booster shot for the seasonal flu, at which point she will be fully vaccinated for that at least, and then she gets her H1N1 booster on the 14th, a full 3 days before we spend A WEEK IN FLORIDA!

We’re flying down to spend Christmas with my parents, and I am thrilled.  I have so missed having them close by.  Being there with them for the holidays is going to be amazing.  Especially since everyone might actually be there this year.  Ryan is flying down from Maryland two days after us, and even my brother Blake might be able to make it since he’ll be home for the holidays from his Army reserve MP training.  I can’t wait for us all to be together.  That’s what makes the holidays for me.  Plus, I am excited about Evi getting to hang out with everyone for a week.  It’s going to be the perfect start to the new year.

I am still working from home, thought the workload has slowed considerably and it has me worried about making ends meet through the end of the year.  It stops mattering in January, when my (hopefully) triumphant return to school will mean a break from paying my student loans and, as such, relieve us of a lot of financial debt.  Until then, I am looking around to see if I can take on some more home-based work to bring in some extra cash.  Sometimes I really struggle with feeling guilty that my choice to stay home has put us in such a tight financial situation.

That being said, I am SO happy to be staying home.  I love everything about it.  I love being here for every little thing Evi does or says.  I love knowing that I have a direct hand in shaping the child she is becoming.  I think I could do the same even if I were working away from home, but given my personality it would be a lot harder for me.  I do think I need to look for ways to build in more ME time though, because I can see how doing this long term might make it difficult for me to maintain a good sense of myself since I am always working and mothering and trying to maintain the house all at once.

I did finally manage to get out of the house to write on a Saturday morning, but I didn’t do it this past Saturday because it was my brother’s last day visiting with us before returning to college for the semester.  So I missed out this week, but I am hoping to make it a fairly regular pattern, since I can go to the local library for an hour or two without spending any money or feeling like I am abandoning my family.

I am back to practicing my Italian, thanks to the awesome Italian stuff I won!  I definitely let it fall by the wayside for a while there, but with these great tools I am doing much better again.  I am trying to start back at the beginning and reclaim a solid grasp on the basics, so right now I am breezing through the first couple of CDs about the alphabet and simple grammar.  I can tell the difficulty level is increasing, so I am hoping it won’t get too tough.  I do find that learning a  language via CD is much more difficult than doing so in a classroom, so I am hoping I won’t lose my motivation.

I am off to get some more work done on Book #3.  I’ve been feeling really good about my writing lately, so I am hoping to see some results from it in the coming months.  I don’t know what it means that there is so much talk about books falling by the wayside, but I am hoping that it’s not to late to be published.  I honestly think my stuff is good, and I am hoping to find some people (other than my awesome friends… preferably people who will pay me) who agree.

I hope everyone is having a fabulous Monday.  Help me get back to the blogging.  Send my questions, comments, whatever you’d like to see me blog about!

One Response to “Catching Up”

  1. pinktattoochick November 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

    I hate it when kids get sick. Makes you feel like your helpless when really and truly your a great parent and know exactly what your child needs. I’m glad yours is feeling better.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

