Dear Doctor

19 Jan

When I call you to tell you that the birth control I am on makes me feel crazy emotional and like I can’t handle life, the correct response is NOT that I should “just deal with it” because “every pill” will do this and if you switch now you’ll be “starting over” and will feel worse for six months even if you switch to something with no hormones.

This is not the first disagreement we’ve had, and though you’re a great doctor, your office staff sucks hugely and I seem to have major differences of fact/opinion with either you or the nurses.  So… I’m breaking up with you.  You’ll miss me, I promise.  Next time, you (or you nurses, since I can’t be sure who this stuff is really coming from) should really consider listening to your patients.

I won’t miss the hour drive anyway…

10 Responses to “Dear Doctor”

  1. Jules January 19, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    I’m not sure where you all are living, but I LOVE my gyn. Let me know if you want his information. GL

  2. Jaime Maynard January 19, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Holy crapola, that might be the worst response I have ever heard. Also complete bullshit, since Allese made me crazy but then I switched to Diana and I was perfectly fine, as I had been earlier in my life on another type of pill, some just don’t work for certain people. Geesh.

  3. a January 19, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    How frustrating! Finding a good doctor is almost as difficult as finding the right spouse – and then add in the staff! Ugh! What a nightmare!

    I hope you find someone out there willing to listen to what you have to say. Good luck.

  4. Barbara January 19, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Ugh. good for you for walking away.

    xxx

  5. Beautiful Mess January 19, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Good for you! I’m breaking up with our pediatrician.Not because they misdiagnosed Nae, but because they should have taken blood since her strep culture came back negative.

    It’s very important for us, as patients to speak up! I’m very proud of you!
    *HUGS*

  6. Val January 19, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I know my own body couldn’t tolerate any type of hormonal intervention: I developed crippling migraines while taking the Pill (yes I tried 2 different types) & suffered suicidal depression when I had the Norplant. Barriers & spermicides only for this girl!

  7. Julia January 19, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Good for you! I can’t tolerate any kind of hormones either…I’m pregnant with my second and I think I’m going to try the copper IUD (paragard) after the baby is born.

    P.S. FWIW I have never heard that you feel worse for 6 months after going of BC – I have definitely heard of people feeling better instantly!

  8. Patty Horst January 19, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Yeah, that’s such crap! Some pills don’t work for some people….try something else…beginning with a new gyn

  9. SecondaryMom January 20, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Good for you! I was told the same thing years ago by my x-docotr.

    None of the women in my family can tolerate any type of pill. For us it causes massive migraines and severe depression and paranoia. (How’s that for a fun combination!) I am taking yaz now because it has the lowest dose and it’s okay as long as I take my zoloft along with it.

    There are lots of other options out there, a GOOD doctor will help you find the right one.

  10. Tara January 20, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Your doctor is full of poo. It may take a week or two to make the transition completely onto the new pill, but it shouldn’t take six months. I’m glad you are dumping them. Now you can find someone closer hopefully. My doctor didn’t hesitate to switch me when I felt crazy, and it totally helped!

Leave a Reply

