Roommates

8 Feb

Now that I am definitely going to FitBloggin, I am trying to decide whether or not it’s worth the risk to get a roommate for the two night hotel stay.  It will save me money, but it will also mean risking someone smelly/snoring/getting into my stuff/rude/drunk… and I hate the idea of having to spend two nights with someone I don’t get along with.  I am generally pretty easy going, but I am also a bit of a loner and I feel like I might be better off on my own.

In defense, I’d like to go over a short history of my roommates.

  1. College – when I first went off to college, I was paired in a room with a slightly older girl who dressed all in black and led her boyfriend around on a leash attached to the dog collar around his neck.  She introduced me to her poster, a buff shirtless guy holding a kitten, and instructed me to say hello to Fluffy.  Fluffy was the man, not the cat.  I switched roommates as, luckily, one of our suite-mates was an old friend of hers and I ended up with a great new roommate, though later the creepy one would accuse me and/or my roommate of stealing her stuff.
  2. College redux – when I was in school a little later and living off campus with Aaron, we shared an apartment with a friend of his from high school and one other boy.  So yes, me and three boys.  We had our own bedroom and bathroom and their area was separated by the common spaces in the middle.  Once when our shower was clogged, I used the other bathroom and found dead roaches everywhere.  One of the roommates (not the high school friend, who we are still friends with and adore) would cook up an entire pound of ground beef and eat it for dinner on the horrible wicker furniture he supplied, and sometimes he would get up onto the railing that separated the kitchen from the living room and scream and sway like an angry monkey.
  3. Boston, Part 1 – when I first moved to Boston to go to Berklee, I wasn’t able to go up and look at apartments so I had to choose one based on email correspondence and pictures.  I ended up living in an apartment with another three guys.  The layout was nice though, since my bedroom was at the far end of the apartment with a living room and kitchen between me and the boys’ rooms.  However, my bedroom was actually the pantry for the kitchen and was so small that my single futon wouldn’t open all the way.  It was also freezing.  One of my roommates would sit in the living room and practice the mandolin at 3am.  They were all tremendous potheads.  When I moved out, my parents came up to help me move.  My Dad slipped on the stairs with a heavy box in his hand and one of my roommates STEPPED OVER HIM without offering help.
  4. Boston, Part 2 – In a desperate attempt to escape my first apartment, I accepted a classmate’s offer to move in with her.  My room was actually the living room, so I had zero privacy.  The windows opened, but there were no screens and they opened onto the alley where the dumpsters were, so in the summer it stank and we were insanely hot.  Did I mention no air conditioning?  Boston gets hotter than you’d think.  The same roommate would go out drinking, come home drunk, do horrendous things in the bathroom that left the whole apartment reeking, and would walk around completely naked.  When she moved out, she left a ton of her things in the apartment and left me to find a new roommate all on my own.  She never came back for her stuff, so we put it out for charity and/or trash after leaving her several unanswered messages.  Several months later when I went back to Boston to visit friends, she saw me in a hallway and stopped to scream at me for being a nasty thief who stole all of her things.
  5. Boston, Part 3 – When I finally found a new roommate, she turned out to be a fresh out of high school drunk.  One weekend when I came home to visit my family, her father called me in a panic because she’d found a half empty wine bottle in someone’s trash and drank it.  He constantly called me to check up on her and would ask me to take her to her AA meetings… which I actually did once or twice.  She had her boyfriend over all the time and they sat on the balcony and smoked pot then proceeded to have loud sex.  She was eventually forcibly removed by her parents from the apartment and taken to rehab… again.

So, you see how I might have hesitations about sharing my space with strangers now?

3 Responses to “Roommates”

  1. Brandee February 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Umm yeahhh… I might go with NO roommate. Those were some real winners! 🙂

  2. Luminous Hailer Star February 10, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    Wow. I knew some people in college who had some bad roommate stories … but not as bad as yours. (My first experience of college dorm life taught me that I never ever wanted to have THREE roommates at once ever again. As there were four of us in a GIANT dorm room … two of the roomies were athletes that would come home from games at all hours of the night, flip on the lights (paying no attention to the of us who were trying to sleep at the time) and work on their homework or practice their gaming skillz.)
    I guess I should count myself lucky none of the roomies ever walked around nekkid. (the one girl I did know who walked around in the buff I was eternally glad that I never had to share living space with her).
    I agree with you. I’d prolli forgo the sharing a room, even for a few nights, unless you can locate someone that you know won’t drink to excess (total inebriation) and doesn’t leave their toenail clippings in the sink.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Failed… « Skinny Sushi - May 18, 2010

    […] wasn’t all bad for me though.  When I moved there, I was sad and lonely.  I had a string of absolutely awful roommates, I was consistently broke, and I was having trouble making friends.  I’d never been so far […]

Leave a Reply

