Research

9 Feb

Okay, I am looking for suggestions.

I have to come up with a research topic by the end of the week.  It has to be something related to secondary education in some way.  Suggested topics “include, but are not limited to the following topics, as they relate to teaching:”

  • Intrinsic and Extrinsic Motivation (Including Using Rewards in the Classroom)
  • The Constructivist Classroom
  • Backwards Mapping
  • Scaffolding
  • Behaviorism
  • Zone of Proximal Development
  • Assistive Technology
  • How to Assess Educational Software
  • “Drill and Skill” Software
  • Collaborative Learning/Cooperative Learning
  • Bullying, Sexting, and/or Emerging Legal Issues for the School Educator
  • Anorexia, Bulimia, and/or Other Disorders
  • Body Image Issues for Adolescents
  • ADD, ADHD, ODD, Bi-Polar and/or Other Disorders
  • Autism, Asperger’s Syndrome, and Tourette’s Syndrome
  • Migrant and/or Homeless Adolescents
  • Signs of Child Abuse/State of Maryland Regulations Regarding Reporting of Child Abuse

I was considering doing something with how pop culture effects the way middle school girls view romantic relationships, but the more I got to thinking about it, the more I’d like to do something that deals a little more specifically with my interests.  So, any thoughts on how I can incorporate any of the following?

  • art
  • art history
  • ancient history
  • religion/philosophy
  • Italian language and/or culture

I could also do something with some of the new pop culture trends.  If you know me, you know anything vampire related would be great too, but I have to figure out how to do something like that in a scholarly way.

4 Responses to “Research”

  1. Lisa R February 9, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    OH, FUN! Why not pick a topic like constructivist classroom or scaffolding, and then do the first half of the paper about the concept and the second half could be application – teaching any of your favorite topics using the above technique? I’d clear it with the teacher first, of course! Have fun!

  2. Bex February 9, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    What about something having to do with reaching adolescents at such a difficult age through art? Ok, that’s a totally me topic, but I figured I’d throw it out there. I know that when I was in school my art teachers were my greatest allies. Not only because they were teachers and were safety nets for me, but because they got a lot of the upset and anger out of me through art.

  3. Nicole February 10, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    So, I have no academic experience in secondary education, meaning that the first part of that list is completely foreign. That said, here are some things that came to mind:

    Art as Therapy for kids with (pick a psychiatric diagnosis of interest)
    Assistive Technology/Software — how about learning a language (Italian) via software programs?
    Impact of Religious Beliefs on Eating Disorders/Body Image in girls

    good luck! there’s so much potential here for you to pick something interesting! (love that, though it can make the decision hard to start!)

  4. Emma S February 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    There is a TON of info out there on Adolescents and Body Image…I was one of those teens who struggled with BI, and acceptng myself for who I am/how I looked, and portraying this theough my art. As an art teacher (in training), we are taught to keep a close eye out on the work and themes that our students come up with, as it can be agood indicator to their mental health and any issues that they may have at home/school/work etc, and any other issues that may need to be attended to. Portraying their feelings through art could be an interesting way to go! Let me know if I can help!!! xo Em

Leave a Reply

