Workout Routine

10 Mar

from Formspring:

What is your workout routine? I can’t seem to find the motivation to do it. Inspire me!

I hope I can inspire you! I should start by saying that I HATED working out, and I was terrified that this new quest for health and weight loss would be a total failure because of how much I hated it.  So I tried to start small by setting a goal of working out ONE day per week for as little as five minutes.  The more I did it, the more I liked the way I felt afterward and the points I earned back (and could then eat) from working out.  I went from one day a week to three days a week for fifteen minutes.  A few weeks later I moved to five days per week, and now I am up to five days for a half hour each day.

When I first started, I was working out with YourselfFitness for Xbox.  It’s a personal trainer/workout game that helped me get started.  It has you do a fitness challenge in the beginning to judge your beginning fitness level, and then throughout each workout it asks you if the previous section was too easy/too hard/ just right.  Every ten workouts you redo the fitness challenge and it tracks your progress.  It was a good way for me to get started and have a little fun with it.

The YourselfFitness workouts got boring quickly because the moves are pretty repetitive, so I started doing those on M,W,F and adding in workouts from Exercise TV through On Demand on T, Th.  I love the Enviga workout series on there, but I’ve tried several others.

Now I am on to doing all On Demand workouts.  Mostly I concentrate on doing cardio based workouts for the sake of calorie burning and weight loss, but on days when I am feeling tired or stressed, am sore from a previous exercise, or just need to reset I will do a pilates or yoga workout instead of the cardio.  I still find these pretty challenging, so I still feel like I am getting a good workout.

It’s not easy, and there are a TON of days when I’d really rather not exercise.  I still consider it a bonus when I let myself have a day off, like on my birthday.  I’d really like to get to the point where I either love it so much or am so much in the habit of working out that I do it all the time and don’t consider a day off to be a bonus, but who knows if I will get there.  For now, a lot of my motivation for working out is because it helps me earn back some daily Weight Watchers points, which means more food on hungry days.  It may not be ideal for my workouts to be so centered on weight loss, but for now I figure whatever keeps me moving is a good thing.

So take it slow.  Workout ONE day.  Just one.  For five minutes.  I find that if you set tiny goals, you feel better about the whole process.  If you manage one five minute workout, you can call yourself a success.  You can say “I worked out” and mean it.  Then do that ONE five minute workout whenever you feel like it until it feels like a habit.  Then add one more workout, or five more minutes.  Make your goals easier to achieve and you’ll be a bigger success!

Let me know how it goes.  🙂

2 Responses to “Workout Routine”

  1. emma March 10, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    ExerciseTV ha walking workouts you should try!!! Lesley Sansone is a great trainer!

    Heres a link to one of her videos: http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/stretch/brisk-walk-alternate-beginners-9016

    • Yummy Sushi Pajamas March 11, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      This is so funny, because I ended up doing an Exercise TV Sansone walking workout yesterday! Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

