Why I Blog

19 Mar

Blogging has been getting some slack in the media lately…  It seems that the overall impression of bloggers, especially those of us with children, are lazy and bored and we blog because we are either just that bored, or desperate for attention.  There is very little respect for it, and Aaron’s coworkers are more than a little dismissive and amused that he is leaving work early today so that I can go to a blog conference.

So why do I blog?  I started blogging as a way to keep in touch with friends and family.  I have always been an open person, and the idea of having a public platform to say what I needed to say and share it with people was immediately appealing to me.  I remember being sad in the beginning when no one was reading my blog, and I still feel a little disappointed sometimes when I don’t get a lot of people stopping by.  I love the sense of community, the conversation amongst friends and strangers alike.

I like being able to post something here and get feedback from people with different backgrounds, different life experiences that inform their opinions.  I’ve also made some amazing friends online, and now one of my best friends in the world is someone who I met on Flickr because we owned the same green plaid shirt from Old Navy.

Blogging is more than a bored pasttime for me.  It is a way for me to communicate with friends, family, internet contacts, and total strangers.  It is a way for me to interact with a wider world, and I love it.  I love the blogs I read, and I am still flattered when a bigtime blogger comments on my site.

Blogging is catharsis, it is a public journal and a private one too.  It is a way to make connections, to more fully understand myself and the world.  It’s not something everyone understands, and I am fine with that.

3 Responses to “Why I Blog”

  1. Caryn March 19, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I’m glad you blog. 🙂

  2. Wondy March 19, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    This is an interesting post and and interesting topic altogether. Well said and I can’t wait to read about FitBloggin! x

  3. cclinton March 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Stumbled upon your blog and think it’s great — and it’s great that you blog (of course I’m a biased blogger). Keep up the fun posts!!

Leave a Reply

