Poser

6 Apr

I have a secret.

I’m a poser.

When I go to bed at night, Aaron is usually still in the bathroom brushing his teeth and whatnot before bed.  I crawl into bed, and I pose.  I try to artfully arrange myself to look as cute/attractive/adorable as possible while still looking like I just happened to be laying in that particular position.  I fan out my hair, I adjust my tank top to hide my belly poof, I stretch my neck a little.

Am I silly?  I don’t know.  It’s just that I always want him to think of me as his sexy wife, and not as the drooling sleepy girl he shares a bed with, you know?  I know he finds me beautiful, and I love him for always making me feel beautiful too, but I want to keep trying to look my best for him.

Crazy?  Maybe, but totally worth it.  Besides, it makes me laugh.

5 Responses to “Poser”

  1. moonduster (Becky) April 6, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    LOL! I thought I was the only one who did that! 🙂

  2. Wondy April 6, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Love it.

  3. Morgan April 7, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    That is FANTASTIC. I use that technique when I am trying to get some, but perhaps I should do it more often just for his sake. I think it is great that you try to be more than just the “drooling sleepy girl he shares a bed with.” Way to go!

  4. Jason Rohrblogger April 8, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Aaron is a lucky man.

  5. milkstained April 8, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    Hi there,
    I got here from your post on the feminist breeder’s breastfeeding article. You’d asked what else you could have tried – I’m offering this not as criticism, but as a genuine answer to your question. I wanted to comment there but didn’t know if you’d see it, so I followed you here 😉

    How was your daughter born? Was it a long labor? I’m not sure if this is something you’d be interested in, but I know several folks who have used chiropractic after birth to help their babies – sometimes a traumatic devliery (prolonged labor, vacuum extraction, etc) can cause the baby to have sucking problems. It’s not something that a lactation consultant might be equipped to look for – I know some folks whose babies have been helped by chiropractic (sometimes muscles in the neck can be tweaked, causing the head to kind of pull to the side – it makes latching difficult) and others whose babies have been helped by osteopathic manipulation, which is performed by a D.O. – though not all D.O.s practice it. The problem may not have been with your milk, and it may not have been an obvious sucking problem. Sometimes this kind of thing is harder to suss out. There’s an organization called ICPA where you can find chiropractors near you who specialize in working in pediatrics.

    It sounds like you’re having a rough time of it, and as someone whose first baby’s first year KICKED MY ASS, I wanted to hop over and give you a virtual hug. Your daughter sounds fantastic — I wouldn’t sweat letting her nap with you; it sounds like she’s the ripe old age for separation anxiety and it sounds like she just wants to be close to you while she sleeps — and it sounds like you’re doing a good job with things. Take care of you, too, and good luck. ❤

Leave a Reply

