Harry Potter High School

19 Apr

Lately, every time I have a really bizarre dream it features people from high school.  It’s like high school is some long forgotten place in my brain where only truly bizarre things happen.  Last night I dreamed that I was staying in this old village (very Harry Potter feeling to it) with a bunch of other high school people (some of whom were people I actually knew in high school while some were random.)

The dream was just me going through the motions… I went to a party, I ate some food, I went to the bathroom.  Really, I find myself in the bathroom in dreams a lot.  For some reason, in this particular scene it was a co-ed bathroom and some girl was telling some guy that he should give her number to his boyfriend.  She then told me, confidentially at the bathroom sink, that the boys were in fact not gay but straight and just didn’t know it yet.

My brain is bizarre.  So then I run into this girl I went to high school with, only in the dream she has super SUPER blond hair, and she is acting sort of odd around me.  Finally she touches me on the arm, then she makes this weird angry/scared face and hisses, then turns into this weird smoky, floating monster thing.  In this totally frightening voice, she goes on to tell me that she’s going to have to stop me from meeting “him.”

Even in the dream, I’m all him?  Him who?  At this point we’ve found ourselves walking down this narrow cobblestone street, and she’s telling me something about only seeing golden light in me (?) so she knows I’m the one he’ll look for.

Who?  My brain is registering something here, like who is this person and wait… am I dreaming?  But then it gets all exciting again and I dive right back into the dream.  I sit down on a random hay bale (because, you know, there is one in the street) and am contemplating the meaning of all of this golden light, mystery man business, which somehow makes at least some sense to dream me, and then there is a lot of noise from the other end of the street.  Around a curve comes this small caravan of people leading horses and carrying bags, looking like they’ve been traveling for a while and are ready for a rest.  The man in the front looks at me and I feel… something.  A connection is made, and somehow I realize that is the mystery guy, and instead of being bothered or irritated I am intrigued.

(Man, sometimes I hate dream me.  I will also, grudgingly, admit that my brain is secretly twelve, because the mystery guy… is fricking Edward Cullen.  Really?  Really, brain?)

The dream starts to sort of wind down as I am waking up, but I do remember a scene in an old library with me and the guy… talking about golden light, and something about me being able to see the future, and then there was some odd intense moment where we almost kiss but then he has to save me from the smoky, floaty monster thing…

So, what does this mean?  Well, if you look up dream meanings then apparently I should explore the spiritual bonds of the relationships I made in high school (no, thank you,) I either have sex on the brain or am feeling emotionally drained, and I am feeling the need to relieve some instinctual burdens.

Or, I watched the world’s most horrific, terrifying, manipulative video clip last night after I drank a glass of wine.  Choose your own adventure, I suppose.  It is still a  massive step up from when I used to dream about my teeth falling out every time I was dealing with stress…

5 Responses to “Harry Potter High School”

  1. Emily April 19, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I love this! You could take a dream like that and turn it into a short story or a book, Miss Writer. 🙂

  2. Judy April 19, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I had a dream Friday night that had you and Evi in it. I t was super long and vivid and I meant to email you about it but then I didn’t and now I don’t remember most of it, but I was babysitting Evi like, for an entire weekend and there was a war outside and I think I might even have had to kill someone to protect her… I wish I had emailed you then, because it was just the oddest thing.

  3. Beautiful Mess April 19, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    Dreams are SO weird! I have some weird ones, too. It’s hard to explain them because I always end up looking like an idiot ;o)
    *HUGS*

  4. Chica April 21, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    I laughed at the Edward Cullen revelation, lady! I have crazy dreams lke this a lot, they feel as though they last hours!

  5. DiningAndDishing April 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I love analyzing dreams. Although I must say good dreams are much more fun to consider :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

Leave a Reply

