Six Wonderful Years

24 Apr

Six years ago today, just at this moment, I was rushing out of the hair salon and making a mad dash for the wedding site.  I was supposed to be there by 10am, and here it was 9:50am and I was only just leaving the salon.  I was at least fifteen minutes away from our ceremony site, and I still had to get dressed.  I was going to be late for my own wedding!  I managed to get to the site only a few minutes late, and I let go of the stress… since it’s not like they could start without the bride!  I guess most brides are nervous on their wedding day, but I felt so excited.  I was so ready to marry this amazing man, this fantastic guy who I’d been dating for six years and who I was so ready to make a new life with.

I was surrounded by women I adored… my mother, my sisters, my mother-in-law, and some beautiful friends.  They helped me get dressed, made sure my makeup was done, and encouraged me to smile and relax.  We’d decided we wouldn’t take pictures together until after the ceremony, so I had some time with the photographer, my family, and the bridesmaids.  It was a fantastic morning, and then we lined up for the procession into the ceremony.  The facility managers were fantastic at keeping everything ordered.

I so clearly remember walking through the doors.  I remember seeing my handsome, smiling husband standing at the end of the aisle (amusingly juxtaposed with our super short officiant) looking nothing short of dapper in his tuxedo.  I walked down the aisle with both of my parents, came to the end, and took my soon-to-be husband’s hand.  The ceremony was short, casual, and perfect, and at the end… we still weren’t married.  Wait, what?

Yeah.  After our photo session with the photographer, the officiant pulled me aside to let me know that our wedding license was technically issued for the city next door.  We had to get in her car and drive over the city line, where we were technically married at a city bus stop with a city cop as our witness.  It was totally awesome.  We came back to the site and enjoyed a wonderful reception with relatively good music, fantastic food, and great times with friends and family.

Looking back, it’s been a fantastic six years.  Somehow, despite having told each other every story one hundred times, having spent nearly every day together, it just keeps getting better.  Even though everyone told us that time would make it fade, that in five or ten or twenty years things would sour between us a little, things just keep getting better.  I fall in love with him a little bit more every single day, and we keep learning new and amazing things about one another.

We survived the loss of a child.  Anyone who can get you through something like that, who can keep loving you on the dark days and keep trying to make you smile so the dark days seem less dark, anyone who cries with you and laughs with you is a keeper.  He is such an amazing man, such an exemplary husband and father.  I could ask for nothing more than our lives to just keep going, just keep giving us new days to spend together.

Oh, and by the way?  Hello, Onederland!

7 Responses to “Six Wonderful Years”

  1. Brandee April 24, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Happy Anniversary, you two!!!

  2. Beautiful Mess April 24, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Happy anniversary! I love your wedding story, it’s perfect!
    *HUGS*
    P.S. Congrats on Onederland!

  3. mom April 24, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    Happy Anniversary my sweet ones…I sure love you guys!!

  4. Bex April 24, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Happy anniversary! You guys are amazing. 🙂

  5. Lydia April 28, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Awwww, what a wonderful story. Sounds like a perfect day. Congratulations.

  6. Groupie for the Underdog April 29, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    I hope my day is even half as happy!

    • Skinny Sushi April 29, 2010 at 5:46 am #

      If you can manage to relax and let go of the details (after all, once the day is here, there’s little to be done to change things) you will have a MUCH better day. Get as much sleep as you can, remember to eat something (sounds silly, but you may forget) and don’t drink too much… you want to enjoy your evening! Then just sit back, relax, and let the beautiful knowledge that you’re getting hitched to your beloved wash over you.

Leave a Reply

