Happy Birthday, Sweet Baby

6 May

My baby manatee –

I can’t believe you’re a year old already.  I don’t know where the time has gone, and I worry that I’ve missed too much of it somehow.  I have an awful lot of pictures to suggest that I was there for pretty much everything, but I just can’t get my head around the fact that you’re growing up so very VERY fast!

It is so cool to be your mommy, and I am so proud.  You are such a happy, relaxed kid.  You are nearly always smiling, even when it’s clear you feel crappy.  On Tuesday when you had your 1 year check up and three shots (plus a toe poke for an iron test) you cried until I opened the window and let you see the parking lot.  Then you were happy, and you gave sad little waves and smiles to the nurses as we left.  You were especially pleased once I let you pick out TWO (!) Kai-lan stickers from the sticker bin.  You clutched those shiny squares, one in each hand, until they practically fell apart a few hours later.  I think the pieces of one are still strewn in the back seat of the car.

You are getting more and more independent, and it’s clear that you’d happily do everything by yourself… if you could just figure out how.  You discovered how to climb over the baby gate yesterday, so now I’ve got my hands full keeping you in the living room while I try to get work done.  It’s an adventure, and you’re worth every second.

You sleep like a champ, even when you don’t feel so great, and I am SO thankful for it.  It’s so nice to sleep decently at night, and then to have you wake up smiling and happy to see me.  You are my favorite thing in the world and I feel so lucky to have you.  I can’t wait to see what you think of all the animals at the zoo.  You love watching animals on tv, so I’m hoping they’ll be even cooler up close.

Oh my girl… we’ve sure come a long way already, haven’t we?  Thanks for being the best travel partner a girl could ask for.  I adore you, cupcake face.

Red Velvet Cupcake Adventure

7 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Sweet Baby”

  1. Barbara May 6, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    Happy Birthday Sweetpea Evi!

    xxx

  2. a May 6, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Happy Bithday, Evi!

  3. Brandee May 6, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Happy 1st Birthday, Sweet Girl!!!

  4. Lindsay May 6, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    She is sooo cute! Happy Birthday to her–it’s amazing how fast they grow!

  5. Caryn May 6, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    Happy Birthday, little girl!!

  6. Michelle | Bleeding Espresso May 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Hope Evi had a wonderful birthday month 🙂 xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Couch to 5K: Going Back « Skinny Sushi - May 6, 2010

    […] I’ll be back out there tomorrow, getting TONS of walking in for my daughter’s zoo birthday party on Saturday, and then running again on Sunday.  Tuesday will be the beginning of week […]

Leave a Reply

