Rome Is Where the Heart Is

13 May

They say that home is where your heart is, and perhaps that is true.  I know that I feel happy and content when I am with the people I love, no matter where I find myself.  A home with my husband and my sweet little girl, somewhere that we can be safe to laugh and love and remember our little Aodin… that certainly sounds like home doesn’t it?  I love our home, but I don’t have any particular attachment to our house.  Does that make any sense?  I’ve never cared much about houses… ideally we’d live in the smallest one that could serve our needs since I hate cleaning and don’t understand all the unused space in most large homes.

I like Maryland, so I’m happy that we find ourselves here, but I frequently find myself missing my family.  Being so far away from them is tough for me sometimes, and infinitely more so right after we see them.  So sometimes I fantasize about moving to Florida, but the truth is that it’s just not likely to happen.  Between finding a job for Aaron and dealing with the comparative lack of season in Florida, I just don’t see us moving there… at least not anytime soon.

So those are my thoughts on home as I see it now, but what about another place?  Have you ever been to a place that you just completely fell in love with?  A place where you felt so entirely comfortable and at home even though it was unfamiliar?  A place where you felt utterly content in a way that no other place has made you feel?  Have you ever stepped off of the bus or plane or train, climbed out of the car or cab, and been nearly overwhelmed by the feeling that you’ve just come home?  Even though you’ve never been there before?

If you know me, you know I’m thinking of Rome.  There was just something about that place, something that touched my soul.  It sounds ridiculous, I know, especially considering my claim that I don’t particularly attach myself to a place.  And I don’t… not usually.  I have vague preferences, but in the end I could be happy in a lot of places as long as I had loved ones to share it with me.  So why am I so utterly, hopelessly in love with Rome?  Rome, where I’d be farther than ever from my family?  Rome, where my family would struggle to find work and learn a new language.

But also Rome, where I’d be surrounded by things that made me feel at home.  Rome, where my daughter would grow up in the midst of a different culture, comfortably learning to speak several languages and experiencing the sort of first hand knowledge of art and history that she just can’t get here.  Rome, where I feel like I belong.

Me in Piazza della Repubblica

Me in Piazza della Repubblica... I miss how red my hair got that summer (2005)

It’s all awfully sentimental, isn’t it?  And totally impractical.  Even if I did get myself together and get to fluency with my Italian (still a goal, though one I am having a lot of trouble committing to despite feeling passionate about it), the move would be difficult and expensive, Aaron would have no work prospects, and we’d have no money.  We’d be putting ourselves further in debt, and we’d be risking total financial ruin.  When it was just us, I might have thrown caution to the wind and jumped in with both feet, but I can’t risk Evi’s quality of life like that… not for something that is all for me.

So yes, sometimes I think about it.  Sometimes I try to work out how we could make it work to move to Italy and live there for a year or so… but in the end I don’t think it will ever happen.  I wish it could, but I’ll live a long and happy life here in the States as long as I have my sweet family around me.

So yes, I suppose it’s true.  Home is where the heart is, and my heart is currently crawling around the living room floor laughing about animal puzzles and musical baby books.

*****

I’m talking about my take on a biscuit pie/casserole recipe on Skinny Sushi today.

4 Responses to “Rome Is Where the Heart Is”

  1. carolyne felder May 13, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    I felt like this when we stepped off the plane in Maui…this is where I want to be. It was the most beautiful place I’ve ever seen. I know financially Hawaii is not the best decision. It’s extremely expensive and I will have a hard time finding a job that is as lucrative there…but I just don’t care. For me, a scuba diver, I just can’t imagine living in a better place. I’m tired of going to a job every day that I hate just because I make a good salary. So my husband and I have talked about it, and we have decided to put in for orders to Hawaii. I mean why not? When will we have another chance to live in paradise? We have the ability to move out there and live for free in military housing. We can shop at the commissary to save money on groceries. I’m thinking about pursuing scuba diving at a professional level and becoming an instructor. I’m ready to make a change because I’m tired of being miserable just to make money. Not to mention that Hawaii is incredibly conducive to good health. Everyone is out running, biking, hiking, surfing, swimming…the possibilities are endless for outdoor activities and I wouldn’t need to join a gym. So fingers are crossed that in early 2012 will get the orders we want, and we will be heading to beautiful Oahu to start a new chapter in our lives. I just don’t know if I will ever come back lol!!

    • Skinny Sushi May 13, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      That sounds like the perfect fit for you! I hope you not only get to go, but never have to leave!

    • Caryn May 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      It’s funny, I was just thinking the same thing about Hawaii. I’m a person who’s not good with change, so when the husband and I go on vacation, I am usually pretty homesick after a couple of days.

      But when we went to Hawaii… I didn’t want to leave. I was so comfortable there. We had so much fun and I wasn’t aching to go home after a week. We even considered extending our stay because we were loving it so much.

      Anyway, I hope your plans work out and you get to enjoy Hawaii for awhile! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe Remix: Biscuit Pie « Skinny Sushi - May 13, 2010

    […] I’m also talking about home and dreams on YSP: Rome is Where the Heart is. […]

Leave a Reply

