Dealing with stress

18 May

Before you get started on this post, please go leave a comment on my giveaway.  A comment will enter you to win a hilarious calendar from a great friend in Italy.

Most of the time, I think I’m a pretty calm and happy person.  I feel mostly laid back.

But two things conspire against me.  Ever since Evi was born, I just have less patience for anything that isn’t her.  Mostly it’s less sleep, but it’s also just that I have so much attention wrapped up in her.  I just don’t have the mental energy to spare for things like the dog barking or the car malfunctioning.

Secondly, once a month I get pretty cranky.  This is something that’s definitely intensified since Evi was born as well.  It doesn’t seem to be changed much by whatever birth control I am on either, so I am just getting through.  As time goes on, I seem to be mellowing again… but it’s still rough.

So when hormones and general sleepiness combine, I’m pretty cranky.  The problem is that my crankitude manifests as this attitude that everything is the end of the world and I suck, generally and in whatever specific situation I’m dealing with.  It’s weird, right?

I’m having one of those days, and to make it worse it’s been raining for two days so we can’t get out of the house for our morning walks.  I’ll be running on my own in the rain tonight if it doesn’t clear up.  I can’t take another day without a run.

How do you deal with these days, when you just feel like the world is conspiring against you?

What else I’m up to:

Why I Failed – discovering why I used to sabotage my diets, and how I stopped

Redecorating the Nursery – exploring options to redesign Evi’s room

How to Read a French Wine Label

One Response to “Dealing with stress”

  1. Brandee May 18, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Ugh, I hate those days… I have no advice – you’re doing better than I do – I usually wallow in self-pity and eat everything in sight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

